Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/)
-   40k Rules Discussion (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/17-40k-rules-discussion/)
-   -   Chaos Rhino. (https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/40k-rules-discussion/10214-chaos-rhino.html)

royemunson 05-13-08 03:39 PM

Chaos Rhino.
 
This came up at club last night and although it is wrong, the 'rules as written' mean it can be done, anyway let me explain.
My friend took a twenty man chaos space marine squad and bought a rhino for it even though they could not ride in it and then spent the rest of the game using it as mobile cover for the unit.
Now he cant see a problem with this as according to the army list it can be done but it just feels so wrong. What are peoples view on this?.

Revelations 05-13-08 03:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by royemunson (Post 111318)
This came up at club last night and although it is wrong, the 'rules as written' mean it can be done, anyway let me explain.
My friend took a twenty man chaos space marine squad and bought a rhino for it even though they could not ride in it and then spent the rest of the game using it as mobile cover for the unit.
Now he cant see a problem with this as according to the army list it can be done but it just feels so wrong. What are peoples view on this?.

What's the problem?

Can he purchase the Rhino for a 20 man squad? Yes.

Can a 20 man Squad ride in a Rhino? No.

Does the squad have to be able to use the Rhino? No.

Does the squad have to be deployed in the Rhino? No.

Does a vehicle provide cover or block LoS? Yes.

Is there a difference between using a dedicated Rhino for cover over a Predator tank? No.

Seems legitimate anyway you look at it. A good use of tactics on his part.

Why exactly do you feel this is wrong?

royemunson 05-13-08 03:59 PM

Is the fact that in every other codex there is an max. unit size to be aloud a transport, but also it is fluff wise, why would a unit have a transport they cant ride in.

Rindaris 05-13-08 04:28 PM

They're Chaos..... fluff wise they use whatever tactics they can to win. And even if the Rhino gets shot up, they'll just steal another one from some loyalists they kill.

Revelations 05-13-08 04:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by royemunson (Post 111330)
Is the fact that in every other codex there is an max. unit size to be aloud a transport,

And most other codecies have body guards for their Commanders. We all have to live with the Codex we're given for our armies. Just because I can field two Princes, doesn't mean an Eldar player should be able to field two Avatars.
Quote:

Originally Posted by royemunson (Post 111330)
but also it is fluff wise, why would a unit have a transport they cant ride in.

How about to provide cover from the enemy as well as mobile fire support? Makes perfect sense to me. This is Chaos after all, chances are they know some people are going to die in battle; or have taken the Rhino transport with the intention of capturing slaves. Fluff wise I should be able to ride on top of a transport, but I can't do that in game.

Take this however you want, but it appears that someone did something that makes sense VIA rules as well as retains fluffy aspects and beat you with it and you're trying to look for a way to prevent them from doing it again. It's an AV10 vehicle, not to hard to destroy; chances are you could also take away a few of his models with it if you blow it up too.

Triumph Of Man 05-13-08 04:46 PM

It's actually a little tougher than AV10, but I agree it's pretty easy to pop.

Red Orc 05-13-08 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by royemunson (Post 111330)
Is the fact that in every other codex there is an max. unit size to be aloud a transport, but also it is fluff wise, why would a unit have a transport they cant ride in.

This isn't actually true.

I don't have 'every other codex' by a long way, but I know that both Blood Angels and Dark Angels are allowed to take transports that are too small for their units to fit in.

If you don't like the idea of having a unit too big its transport, that's fine, you don't have to field one. But it's perfectly legal to do so under several codices. As Revelations has said, there could be a number of backstory reasons that the Rhino is there and empty.

:RAW cyclops:

royemunson 05-13-08 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Revelations (Post 111351)
Take this however you want, but it appears that someone did something that makes sense VIA rules as well as retains fluffy aspects and beat you with it and you're trying to look for a way to prevent them from doing it again. It's an AV10 vehicle, not to hard to destroy; chances are you could also take away a few of his models with it if you blow it up too.

I still beat him, this is not a 'he cheated me out of a win thread' and i will never stop him taking it, it just seem an odd thing to be able to buy for a unit, it went well with his twin lashes anyway:biggrin:.

royemunson 05-13-08 05:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Red Orc (Post 111365)
This isn't actually true.

I don't have 'every other codex' by a long way, but I know that both Blood Angels and Dark Angels are allowed to take transports that are too small for their units to fit in.

:


I think your wrong on that one i'm afraid, yes you can buy a razorback for a ten man squad but that squad has the option to split in to two units so one of them can use the transport. you cant do that with the chaos one.

Deceiver 05-13-08 05:37 PM

Some units have a transport option. It simply states under that option that the squad may have a Chaos Rhino dedicated transport. See Chaos rhino transport entry.
Rhino entry says that it can carry up to 10 models. No mention of only sqds numbering 10 or less can only purchase it. It is a transport that all 5-20 of the sqd can use. Example: if the first 10 in it perish,the remaining 10 can still use it.
There is no requirement for the sqd to have to use it. It can drive off wherever it wants to.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 PM.

Powered by the Emperor of Man.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome