Oathbreaker - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Original Works All user written fiction from any Games Workshop setting should be posted here. Please use the drop-downs to denote which setting your story belongs.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 51 (permalink) Old 03-24-08, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
The Traveler

Dirge Eterna's Flag is: USA

Default Oathbreaker

Well, this is my first WHFB story...been reading a bit about Fantasy other than Slaanesh, and I like the ideas.

Now, before you begin to throw full beer bottles at your screen, bear with me. I'm new to Fantasy writing. Unlike my WH40K stories, this one won't have set chapters, I'll just write along.

Cheers!

Note to Fiction Competition people, only the first two chapters are included in Hespithe's Fiction contest. Good Luck to all!
-Dirge
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Althalos moved nearly silently. His sword was padded with worn cloth to keep it from moving.

He stooped down, his gloved fingers brushing the ground.

These tracks. They split off from the main group..

To where?

He paused, glancing down the thickly forested trail.

Can't tell exactly...somewhere near the village to the north.

A low rumbling echoed through the trees as they were pushed aside by the huge black dragon edging it's way through the trees.

Sydney moved from the treeline, scanning the woods with her striking violet eyes.

Althalos never actually found out why he could speak to Sydney in such a way, without making any noise. Like they could hear each other, but no one could hear them. He eventually dismissed the thought. It was just the way things were.

Do you think they went to the village itself? Or just passing by?

Althalos frowned, concentrating.

I'm not sure...the main group passed the town. Maybe raiders.

Sydney snorted.

Don't assume.

Althalos nodded.

It's all well and good. Fine. Don't fly, keep low. I'm going to scout ahead.