Dark Knowledge - An Explorator Story - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Original Works All user written fiction from any Games Workshop setting should be posted here. Please use the drop-downs to denote which setting your story belongs.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-23-12, 11:02 PM Thread Starter

Default Dark Knowledge - An Explorator Story

Hi guys,

I'm new to site and I hope you'll forgive me a bit of self-promotion. last year I wrote the first 3 chapters of a novel as part of a submission to Black Library. Unfortunately they didn't go for it, but the written chapters have been up on my site for the last couple of months for those who might enjoy them, and a I really like getting feedback on my writing. I'll just put the first few paragraphs below, the rest can be found at: http://www.wulfmojo.com/dark-knowledge-chapters-1-to-3/

Hope you like it.

---

The ground was stained red where two of the Enemy had been slain the previous night. The Earthborn scouts who had dispatched them had already dismembered the bodies and taken what was useful: the bones, the meat, the skin. Any remaining waste had been burnt, as evidenced by the blackened patch of debris nearby.

The girl crouched down and pressed her hand on a bloodied patch of dirt. Warm winds and dust swirled around her as she closed her eyes and focused on the sensation. Once-hot blood was now simply warm and sticky as it seeped into the hungry earth. Not for the first time she thought of the earth as a slumbering beast drip-fed with blood spilled by the mortals on its back. The spiritwalkers taught that all things were alive in some fashion. Her teenage mind had grown to question matters of faith but in that moment, imagining herself drifting through blood and dirt into the wider whole, she could appreciate the idea of the living world. For a while she daydreamed of the earth-beast and of scurrying green creatures which burrowed underneath its skin.