Can the War on Terror be won? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Off Topic Totally off-topic chat in here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-27-08, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
bobss's Flag is: England

Default Can the War on Terror be won?

well as the title says can the war on terror ever be won, especially afghanistan. i was interested in your opinions as im studying vietnam ATM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-27-08, 09:01 PM
blahblahblahblah

Stella Cadente's Flag is: Zaire

No, how can you fight something thats basically paranoia, its like trying to fight the shadows that follow you home at night.

the best way to fight terror is the same we British did in WWII, ignore it the best you can and carry on with your lives the best you can, its not terrorism if nobody is scared.

going around invading random countries pointing at everyone for being suspicious isn't how to do it, its how you increase it

Last edited by Stella Cadente; 10-27-08 at 09:04 PM.
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-27-08, 10:50 PM

I agree, I don't see how you can fight terror with more terror and expect to end up with less terror.

The way to defeat terrorists is to end the factors that cause sections of the population to support them. If people are poor, desperate, ignorant or afraid, they'll turn to any scumbag with a plausible line in who to blame. Ending the poverty, desperation, ignorance and fear is the way to defeat terrorists, whether of the governmental or wannabe kind.

But terrorism, no, because that's a tactic. You can't defeat a tactic, you might as well say "we'll defeat swimming". And "terror"? No, you can't defeat that either, except by calming everyone down and making them brave... and even then you're not really "defeating terror" you're defeating the effects of terror.