Rebooting my laptop - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Off Topic Totally off-topic chat in here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default Rebooting my laptop

Ok, so a couple of days ago, my laptop cut out on me, and when I restarted it, demanded I initiate repairs. So I did, and left it "repairing" for like a day. It then asked me to insert a boot disk, so I nabbed a copy of Windows 7 boot disk from a mate and started up. Now it's asking me for the location of the backup for the computer I want to store, and has given me a massive list of random system files and dlls. I have no fucking idea, so can anyone help me out???

HELP!

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
SGMAlice's Avatar
SGMAlice's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ass End of Nowhere
Posts: 3,807
Reputation: 15
Default

You broke it!

Did you create an OS back up of the Laptop?

Not many people do these days, which is very silly. I personally have three backups of the OS and three of my personal data.

Long story short; If you created a back up it would have run it immediately or atleast taken you straight to its location on your HDD. So its likely you didn't and your going to have to completely re-install the OS.

Alice

PC/Laptop Problems? Post Here: Heresy Online's PC Hardware Help Thread
WIP Custom Chapter Fluff: The Children Of The Dragon
WIP Bio-Mechanical Tyranids: Hive Fleet Giger
SGMAlice is offline  
post #3 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 12:30 PM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Ack shite. I was actually considering making a backup copy in the last week. Oh irony, I hate you. I do have a copy of the Windows 7 OS, but not my specific one.
And I don't even know what I did to make this happen....

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #4 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
SGMAlice's Avatar
SGMAlice's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ass End of Nowhere
Posts: 3,807
Reputation: 15
Default

Back Up, Back Up, BACK UP!

Silly peoples are silly

Considering you have no access to the laptop's software platform, its likely you never will find out.
I assume 'not my specific one' means you will have to use an older or inferior version?

Alice

Re-installation is your only option it would seem.

PC/Laptop Problems? Post Here: Heresy Online's PC Hardware Help Thread
WIP Custom Chapter Fluff: The Children Of The Dragon
WIP Bio-Mechanical Tyranids: Hive Fleet Giger
SGMAlice is offline  
post #5 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Bollocks.
By "my specific one" I mean the disc I have is a generic Windows 7 one, as my laptop didn't come with one, and I have no backups.

So what would I need to do for re-installation? (yes I am that inept at this sort of thing)
Also, I assume this means I'll lose all my data, files, work etc?

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #6 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
SGMAlice's Avatar
SGMAlice's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ass End of Nowhere
Posts: 3,807
Reputation: 15
Default

Generic W7 one is a little none specific i'm afraid; Is it a full copy of the OS or just a basic back up disk?

As for your Personal Data, i'm afraid unless you have a tech savvy friend who can remove the HDD for your Laptop and jack it in to a PC, you have lost it all.

Take this as a lesson: BACK UP YOUR DATA!

I know i have said that a few times now but i can't really stress it enough. Few people do it and then regret it when their Laptop/PC blows up and they lose everything.


Your going to need a full copy of the OS to re-install, boot into the BIOS screen (usually F2 or Delete, just keep hitting it as soon as you boot up the Laptop) and from there you need to set the start up to 'Boot From Disc'. Restart and hit Enter when it prompts. Select ' Custom Install', then select the largest HDD Partition, Format it if necessay and install on that. From then on it self explanatory.

Its complicated for the Tech inept i'm afraid. If you need more i can do you a step by step with images.

Alice

PC/Laptop Problems? Post Here: Heresy Online's PC Hardware Help Thread
WIP Custom Chapter Fluff: The Children Of The Dragon
WIP Bio-Mechanical Tyranids: Hive Fleet Giger
SGMAlice is offline  
post #7 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Cheers Alice. I'll see if I can contact anyone to see if they can salvage the HDD. As for the disc, I'm not actually sure if it's the basic or the whole shebang - if it helps, it says 64 bit on the disc, but that's about it...

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #8 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
SGMAlice's Avatar
SGMAlice's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ass End of Nowhere
Posts: 3,807
Reputation: 15
Default

Welcome

Let me know what happens and if you need that step by step just PM me and i will cook something up for you.

Alice

PC/Laptop Problems? Post Here: Heresy Online's PC Hardware Help Thread
WIP Custom Chapter Fluff: The Children Of The Dragon
WIP Bio-Mechanical Tyranids: Hive Fleet Giger
SGMAlice is offline  
post #9 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-28-12, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Awesome. If all else fails, I'll whack it with a wrench and say a prayer to the Machine God.

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #10 of 67 (permalink) Old 07-29-12, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Just checking before I go ahead with re-installing. There is definitely nothing I can do at this stage (see image), without the backup?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo0149.jpg (1.36 MB, 7 views)

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > HO Off Topic > Off Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome