Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Skimmers and flying bases Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-12-11 10:45 PM
Azrell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terabyt3 View Post
Eldar tanks are 2" from access points. So it's rear.... (there's a joke there somewhere)
who's there?.... wait wrong joke?
05-12-11 08:31 PM
Terabyt3 Eldar tanks are 2" from access points. So it's rear.... (there's a joke there somewhere)
05-12-11 07:39 PM
OIIIIIIO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salahaldin View Post
As for passengers disembarking, I just measure 2" from the entry points looking straight down at the vehicle, then place the passengers at the corresponding spot on the ground.
Depends on the rules for the specific skimmer.
The Storm Raven rules say anywhere within two inches of the base. So you could have a dreadnought unload up to two inches away from the front of the Storm Raven. Not sure about the wording on the other skimmer as I do not run them.
05-12-11 07:09 PM
Salahaldin As for passengers disembarking, I just measure 2" from the entry points looking straight down at the vehicle, then place the passengers at the corresponding spot on the ground.
05-12-11 06:54 PM
OIIIIIIO Khainite has the right of it, also the base must be removed, if possible, if the skimmer becomes immobilized.
05-12-11 06:17 PM
shampawnya Boo... Not the answer I was hoping for, but does end my confusion... Thanks guys
05-12-11 05:45 PM
KhainiteAssassin te BRB ruling of must be set down on the table is referring to people trying to lift the model up to an infinite height in order to fire through what would otherwise impede LOS.

IE: I put one of my ravagers behind a wall but "move it up" in order to see over the wall.

The rule is meaning that the BASE has to be on the table. get it now?
05-12-11 05:37 PM
laviathan13089
Quote:
Originally Posted by shampawnya View Post
Okay here's an interesting one... For models like Valkaries and Stormravens that have large flying bases... Are they suppose to remain on their bases or are you suppose to put the model itself on the table with no base... The BRB says (p71) The skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it cannot be left hovering in midair... Is this on the base or no base...

Obviously if it was left on it's base it's very hard to keep these suckers in cover... But at the same time the BRB as says that embarking units measure 2" from the base...

Hopefully you guys see my confusion and can help. Thanks in advance!
i thought the rulebook stated that models should never be removed from their bases, even if immobilized...
05-12-11 05:34 PM
shampawnya
Skimmers and flying bases

Okay here's an interesting one... For models like Valkaries and Stormravens that have large flying bases... Are they suppose to remain on their bases or are you suppose to put the model itself on the table with no base... The BRB says (p71) The skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it cannot be left hovering in midair... Is this on the base or no base...

Obviously if it was left on it's base it's very hard to keep these suckers in cover... But at the same time the BRB as says that embarking units measure 2" from the base...

Hopefully you guys see my confusion and can help. Thanks in advance!

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome