Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
General Warhammer This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer Fantasy.

Thread: Infernal Gateway Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
07-28-10 09:06 PM
Khorothis If I were you I'd hop over to the Army List section, post your army list and ask for suggestions. Seriously, even if you take Halberds with Khornate Warriors (which you should if you play a Khornate army), you hit earlier than the rats, much more and much stronger. You should be butchering everything you come across. You're doing something very wrong but maybe if you post your army list in the proper section then you'll get the advice you need.
07-28-10 07:03 PM
Originally Posted by Khorne Aggression View Post
Is it possible to take the Dreaded 13 using the Third Eye of Tzeentch?


this post is now longer than 10 characters
07-28-10 06:58 PM
Khorne Aggression Is it possible to take the Dreaded 13 using the Third Eye of Tzeentch? My argument was that it doesn't actually summon anything, it converts them which is different.
07-28-10 04:56 PM
Originally Posted by Khorne Aggression View Post
Overly exxaggerated moan
where to start.

You get the higher number of the dice for your dispel, so if you're getting 1, 2 or 3 dispel dice, your opponent is getting sod all power dice. (6 max) This makes casting the 13th Spell rather hard.

5 games in a row, every time he nuked your big unit? .... maybe learn to adapt.

Learn to use Infernal Puppet. (I'm assuming you play chaos warriros as your name is KhorneThingy and you refernce a sorcerer) This single magic item is a game winner with the new miscast table. Average roll on 2D6 is 7. if you can mod that by 3 BAM!!! no more grey seer.

Not to mention the spell needs a 25+ to cast.... 25!!!!
so that's a 21 including caster level. To reliable roll that he's looking at 5 dice MINIMUM. That's a 20% chance of miscast right there.
Not to mention the average power dice pool is 7 so unless he's chugging down the warpstone risking his caster's life in the process it's hard to get the spell off. If he tries it on fewer dice throw the black tongue at him.
If he's dumping all his dice to it he's not casting plague, warp lightning, death frenzy or wither with any other wizards.

and he's removing your unit in 5 games? repeatedly. 4D6 models turned into rats is what? 14 on average. This probably means your general's bodyguard unit is too small.

How about 3rd eye of Tzeentch? No rule says you can't 13th spell a unit of Skaven.

Avoiding it is actually rather easy.
07-28-10 04:33 PM
Khorne Aggression What a bull crap spell. I lost 5 games in a row because he just kept absorbing my general's unit or removing whatever unit had my Sorcerer. So stupid you have absolutely no defense against it AND it's a signature spell. Dispelling it will almost never work because it's rare that you get 6 dispel dice. Too bad IG only has a cast of 15, so easy to dispel against. Yeah you can take a dispel scroll but that's only good once. After that it's game over.
07-28-10 04:18 PM
Creon Yep, that's what I thought.
07-28-10 02:35 PM
Whizzwang A signature spell in army books is defined as any spell you can take by swapping a spell you roll.

So yes, multiple grey seers can substitute to the 13th spell to get more copies.
07-28-10 01:50 PM
Farseer_Iowan I am sure Grey Seerer thanqul (yes misspelled) gets the 13th spell as a default
07-27-10 10:07 PM
Creon You may also be able to have the Dreaded 13th spell more than once, I think. It's a "default spell", and might be able to be legal for all grey seers in an army to have.
07-27-10 09:52 PM
Originally Posted by Masked Jackal View Post
Uh, you can't have the same spell twice anymore...
You can if you use something like the tzeentch gift - Master of Sorcery. You just can't roll the same spell twice.

Also, how is he getting the dreaded 13th off? Power Scroll?
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome