Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Questions... a lot of questions... Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
02-25-08 03:15 PM
Djinn24 Reserving to FAQ this one at a later date due to the number of questions...
02-20-08 03:25 PM
Bishop120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad View Post
Be careful giving shield drones to lone broadsides though (or at least give him a bonding knife) because, as insane as it sounds, you DO suffer morale and Last Man Standing tests as a result of your drones dying.

So a veteran Tau battlesuit pilot in the best armor available, with the strongest weapons known to Tau science, perfectly capable of striding into battle all by himself...will freak out and run like a gretchen when his expendable shield drones get slagged.

If you give shield drones to a solo broadside make sure he has stabilizers and a bonding knife so he can at least fire while he falls back and try to rally.
Hey their Tau of course their going to run. But yeah I have to aggree with Gal here in that yes they do have to still take moral/ld tests for their drones dieing. But think about this... would you rather he took those 2 wounds on himself and died or the 2 drones?? Again I have to aggree with Gal that it is imperative that you give them bonding knives to at least give them a chance to regroup and the stabilizers is a very good idea.
02-20-08 06:44 AM
Galahad Be careful giving shield drones to lone broadsides though (or at least give him a bonding knife) because, as insane as it sounds, you DO suffer morale and Last Man Standing tests as a result of your drones dying.

So a veteran Tau battlesuit pilot in the best armor available, with the strongest weapons known to Tau science, perfectly capable of striding into battle all by himself...will freak out and run like a gretchen when his expendable shield drones get slagged.

If you give shield drones to a solo broadside make sure he has stabilizers and a bonding knife so he can at least fire while he falls back and try to rally.
02-20-08 06:26 AM
Bishop120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deceiver View Post
IC's attatched to small units with mixed armor tends to hurt them.
Its not the mixed armor that hurts them but the majority toughness. Especially when the toughness is lower than theirs. The mixed armor can help them as the standard is 2 drones to a suit that means on average the drones will be forced to make the saves first before the suits.

If your going to give them drones go with shield drones as they get same toughness/armor no matter what. This helps out a lot for broadside teams.
02-20-08 06:15 AM
Galahad Indeed.
A fun thing to do if you have a lot of piranhas and/or devilfish without missile pods is to have everyone drop drones and then form them all up in front of the commander. Now the enemy has to overkill a bunch of tiny 2 drone squads just to get at the character
02-20-08 05:58 AM
Deceiver IC's attatched to small units with mixed armor tends to hurt them.
02-20-08 03:36 AM
Galahad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marneus Calgar View Post
A.1. Yes, his drones just protect the commander though.
Sorry to contradict you, Calgar, but the commander loses his IC status if he comes with drones. The drones and commander become a unit and can be shot at as normal.

However, he *retains* his ability to join and leave squads, taking his drones with him. So he can still join a squad, but when he does he;s a unit and can be shot at, him and his drones.

This is why I don't like giving ICs drones. I prefer instead to just detach a pair of drones from a nearby transport or piranha and have them move in front of the commander, acting as a bullet shield without making him lose his IC status.
02-20-08 02:18 AM
Triumph Of Man
Quote:
A.3. I think they still have to roll 2D6 for terrain...
They're Tyranids, and all Tyranids get 3d6 through cover.
02-19-08 03:08 AM
Deceiver the opp decides which wpn is destroyed. small rulebook-p.67 under armament destroyed heading. Read what is in parenthesis.
02-18-08 06:03 PM
Culler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop120 View Post
As for the wood line if the vehicle is not IN the woods then you are not allowed to shoot at it period end of sentence even if it is a skimmer. The woods completely block line of sight if your not IN them.
Only if the woods are size 3. If the woods are size 2 the skimmer can be seen but is obscured. If the woods are size 1 then the vehicle gets no benefit for being behind them.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome