|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|01-28-07 09:48 PM|
Well, it's confusing because the FAQ disagrees with the test in the codex. Bear in mind that these FAQs were written to allow us to continue to us our "old Codex" in 4th ed. There are two parts of the FAQ related to this discussion.
1. The boosted Leadership works for the Officer's Leadership rule. So any unit within 12" of the Officer can test at LD 10 (Assuming HSO or Honorifica with Commissar).
2. Special rules such as Iron D, etc do not work down a Vox link.
|01-13-07 04:27 AM|
|uberschveinen||Nothing quite like the actual text in question to solve problems. With writing that clear, I'm surprised so damn many people get it confused.|
|01-02-07 09:24 PM|
Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presense of a Commisar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."
With that said, it's a pretty glaringly obvious no. As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commisar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.
|12-29-06 09:17 AM|
|jigplums||the old faq's are still the current interpretation of the rules. they just get replaced when the new codex comes out, and then the new faq comes out relevent to the new codex.|
|12-29-06 03:27 AM|
|sportman||Wait another thing is if I take an Independant Commissar can he go and attach himself to either a conscript or rattling squad and give them all LD 10? That would solve many of my problems.|
|12-28-06 05:42 PM|
|Necrontyr||Well yes it is, because there isn't a 4th edition Guard codex, there is only an old codex...|
|12-28-06 05:40 PM|
Originally Posted by Necrontyr
|12-28-06 05:10 PM|
I'm curious as to how you came to this conclusion PadreJim? I'm not against it, as my infantry army uses a vox network extensively and this would be an awesome addition!
As I read it though:
Codex: Ld+1 Applies to leadership checkls the command squad has to take.
According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.
But then it also says that the +1 LD does appy to his command rule. The command rule doesn't affect the vox network though... so I'm not sure how that applies.
Just curious as to your interpretation.
|12-28-06 04:35 PM|
|cccp||apparently the +1 does go through the vox. ask pardre jim.|
|12-28-06 03:08 PM|
|Necrontyr||Ok, the HI gives a JO ld9, the Commissar than gives him a +1 for all leadership checks the Command squad has to take, and only those checks. It does not apply to other squads using his leadership. Since Vox checks are not leadership checks the Command Squad is taking, they do not get the +1 bonus. They do get to use the Ld of 9 however.|
|This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|