Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

Thread: necrons in need of dire help Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
02-25-10 09:27 AM
Colonel Wolf
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Metal Troy View Post
Ohshit! You guys are right. Scarabs do provide cover, just not to monstrous creatures. I read the swarms rule wrong.
Kudos for saying it
02-19-10 09:32 AM
darklove Threadomancy! Welcome to the forum PurePwnage, but contributions on active discussion are preferred to the double-posting of comments dead topics (4 months of silence).
02-19-10 08:25 AM
PurePwnage keep the monolith a small distance away from the battle. if things are looking grim in cc necrons may phase out of battle and reemerge out of the monoliths portal. use this to your advantage cause necrons aren't bad shooters either
02-19-10 08:15 AM
PurePwnage keep the monolith a small distance away from the battle. if things are looking grim in cc necrons may phase out of battle and reemerge out of the monoliths portal. use this to your advantage cause necrons aren't bad shooters either
10-26-09 09:41 PM
Tim/Steve Scarabs have the 'stealth' USR (they are 'swarms', all 'swarms' get 'stealth' automatically), this gives them +1 to all cover saves. Turbo boosting gives the unit a 3+ cover save (which I think is clearly covered by "all cover saves") and as such stealth upgrades it to a 2+...

basically speaking its nearly impossible to hit something that small moving that fast
10-26-09 05:54 PM
titan11 scarabs do not get a +1 bonus to their cover sv when moving flat-out they get a +1 cover bonus to cover from the TERRAIN they are in from being small AND an additional +1 bonus to their cover save from the stealth universal special rule. Making them take a dangerous terrain test by moving flat out is still a good idea because the wound will not insta-kill a scarab and only causes a single wound out of 3 IF you roll a 1 on the dangerous terrain test.
10-26-09 04:08 PM
Sebi I am playing around with equipping them with desruption field to unnerve the enemy and make him take care about his vehicles *evilgrin*
10-26-09 04:05 PM
BrotherR I've had a unit of 8 scarabs wipe out a marine devastator squad. Against cc specialist they are just a speed bump but they are a terror against anything else.
10-26-09 02:44 PM
Tim/Steve Yeah, I was being a muppet when I wrote that bit I had it in my head that they were 3 3W models in a unit...

I prefer wraiths over scarabs since as soon as you get into combat any unit with scarabs in it is going to lose (they are just too easy to wound.. sure your fearless but its stil not winning, worst of all would be the enemy wiping out the rippers and giving you something like a -5Ld test) but it does take a lot more thinking about how to get into combat with them- I would say wraiths are more a counter assault unit rather then a strike/diversion force.
10-26-09 02:27 PM
Sebi are we talking about a single unit or three... the later I would not field ... you sacrifice the possibility to field destroyers... which is just not my style to play Necrons.

Of course three wraith-units are deadly as hell ... and well worth it in a CoD battle where the long range and movability of destroyers is not working well
But in an open battle on a normal table I so far only fielded one unit as guards for my Lord with Destroyer body.
I am sorry if I didn't get your point.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome