Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Dealing of Attacks in Multi-Unit Combats Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
06-24-09 01:55 PM
the cabbage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson_Chin View Post
Anyway, in response to the Cabbage - read asian avatars post, or my post from the first page. There is a clear reason for including the rule - mixed initiative combat. I used an IC in my example, but it could just as easily be a squad member with a higher initiative.

Basically, the rule states that you are locked into fighting whomever you were in base contact with before blows were struck. As my post from page 1 shows, if you are in B2B with an enemy, but that enemy was eliminated (and you are no longer in base contact with any others) you CANNOT allocate your attacks as per the 2" rule if they are going to a different unit than you were originally in B2B with.

This can and will come up whenever you have mixed initiative combat (SM terminator squad, Eldar squad with an exarch, or any two squads with differing I attacking someone else).

It was explained clearly several times, there shouldn't be any contention at this point.
Hey dude been away for a day or so. I read all of the thread several times hence my ears bleeding.

My point was that the rules discussed up until my post said no such thing. The errata posted later says exactly that but the BRB does not. I tried to explain above the rules for engaged. Basically B2B or 2".

To use your example of a character. Before the errata a terminator with a PF in base to base can attack any models, still alive, with which he was engaged. B2B was not mentioned at all and was therefore irrelevant. At the points myself and then you posted this, and in fact for all time, the first bullet point says absolutely no such thing

The new bullet point in the errata covers your points exactly and makes the discussion this became pointless. But the first bullet point is still a waste of ink which adds nothing but confirmation to earlier rules.

It was explained clearly by some posters, clearly and incorrectly
06-23-09 11:06 PM
TheKingElessar Yeah, I noticed that yesterday, but forgot to post it, d'oh! +Rep for providing definitive answer.
06-23-09 03:41 PM
don_mondo Didn't see this posted, but GW has put out an erratta on this:

Page 41 – Multiple Combats, Attacking.
A third bullet point should be added, as follows:
• Models that at the beginning of the combat
(before any model attacked) were engaged with
more than one enemy unit, but were in base
contact with just one of the enemy units, must
attack that unit.

Key point here is that they clarify the timing, and just as has been posted by several here, beginning of combat means before attacking...............
So OP right, new 'friends' wrong
06-22-09 08:53 PM
Pauly55 Sqwerlpunk has it right. B2B in multiple unit combat overrides within 2" for allocation of attacks.
06-22-09 07:03 PM
Sqwerlpunk
Quote:
Originally Posted by asianavatar View Post
Only comment about the above is that Berserker 2 and 3 might be able to attack the terminators because they are within two inches of an model in their unit who is in b2b with an enemy (Berserker 4 and 5). Other than that, the example is a pretty good one.
No, they're in base to base with something, if you have base to base you MUST attack a model in base to base.
06-22-09 06:37 PM
Gunstar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
You got it exactly right Troy, and nice idea with the photos.
I really can't understand how this has gone on 3 pages, it should have been a 1 post answer, it's a very simple rule.

Anyway, the one thing I have to comment that you did wrong there, Troy, is that the closest assaulting model has to make contact with the closest enemy model.
The first Terminator has to assault the first Berzerker, although I'm not really sure which one is closer.
Other than that, fine.
Which is exactly what elessar already said... ;)
06-21-09 10:41 PM
Winterous You got it exactly right Troy, and nice idea with the photos.
I really can't understand how this has gone on 3 pages, it should have been a 1 post answer, it's a very simple rule.

Anyway, the one thing I have to comment that you did wrong there, Troy, is that the closest assaulting model has to make contact with the closest enemy model.
The first Terminator has to assault the first Berzerker, although I'm not really sure which one is closer.
Other than that, fine.
06-21-09 07:37 PM
asianavatar
Quote:
Berzerker 1 - base contact with tsons (He must attack them)
Berserker 2 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 3 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 4 - Base contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
Berserker 5 - Base Contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
Only comment about the above is that Berserker 2 and 3 might be able to attack the terminators because they are within two inches of an model in their unit who is in b2b with an enemy (Berserker 4 and 5). Other than that, the example is a pretty good one.
06-21-09 06:31 PM
Sqwerlpunk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Metal Troy View Post
If we take a look at the numbered khorne berzerkers in the picture we can see this.

Berzerker 1 - base contact with tsons (He must attack them)
Berserker 2 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 3 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 4 - Base contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
Berserker 5 - Base Contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
You know, I think the implication this rule was going for was to make it so that the models in base to base with both had to attack their original opponents, even though that doesn't really come across in translation.

Awesome post and pictures.
06-21-09 05:59 PM
Pirate Metal Troy Crimson has it as well. If your opponent disappears, you have no one left to fight...you decide and declare who you will attack, then roll dice in initiative order.

Definite props for bringing that up crimson.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome