Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: The cost of using Snikrot Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
04-22-09 08:21 PM
Culler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macrocalculator View Post
The listing states "One Kommando may be upgraded to Nob +10 points".
So that would cap the unit at a max of 15 as you upgrade one of the 5-15 kommandos.
For Snikrot the exact wording in the list is:
"Instead of a Nob, one mob may be led by: - Boss Snikrot (see page 62).... 85 points"
So instead of upgrading a kommando to a Nob, you but Snikrot (there is no + in front of his points cost, so it is 85 not 85+10).
I would say you still cap of at 15 as you are still replacing the option of a regular commando with Snikrot (just as you do when you take a nob).

For people reading along page 99 of the latest Ork Codex.
Pretty sound reasoning if you ask me. Looks like I've been doing ti right. Thanks!
04-22-09 11:30 AM
Macrocalculator The listing states "One Kommando may be upgraded to Nob +10 points".
So that would cap the unit at a max of 15 as you upgrade one of the 5-15 kommandos.
For Snikrot the exact wording in the list is:
"Instead of a Nob, one mob may be led by: - Boss Snikrot (see page 62).... 85 points"
So instead of upgrading a kommando to a Nob, you but Snikrot (there is no + in front of his points cost, so it is 85 not 85+10).
I would say you still cap of at 15 as you are still replacing the option of a regular commando with Snikrot (just as you do when you take a nob).

For people reading along page 99 of the latest Ork Codex.
04-22-09 02:17 AM
DeathKlokk AS I said, "it could be argued". He doesn't replace a Nob, he's "instead of" a Nob which means there wasn't a Nob to begin with, as "replace" suggests.
04-22-09 01:48 AM
Son of mortarion
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
I'd say 15 is the max size, although it could be argued the list says "15 Kommandos".
true,but that line of reasoning could also allow 15 kommandos plus 1 nob( total 16), since the nob is a "nob" and not a "kommando." It is more reasonable to assume that, since the nob does not add a 16th ork, and snikrot replaces the nob ( and does not have any rules that allow him to add one more ork), that snikrot also does not add another, leaving the total at 15. it would also be reasonable to assume that despite not being listed as a "kommando," he still is a "kommando," since he is a special character for kommando mobs.
04-22-09 01:30 AM
DeathKlokk I'd say 15 is the max size, although it could be argued the list says "15 Kommandos".
04-22-09 12:36 AM
Culler Well, with this much confusion over the issue I at least feel validated in asking the question.
04-21-09 09:30 PM
Son of mortarion The maximum squad size is 15, snikrot doesn't change that. You could only go larger with an independent character.
04-21-09 08:30 PM
englanda Like I said, army builder aint scripture.

Deathklokk got it. Still, the question remains, 15 and Snikrot? Or 14 and Snikrot?
04-21-09 05:46 PM
DeathKlokk OK I have not looked at this one for a bit and now have read the Ork book...here's what I see.

All the units that pay the points for the basic troop to be upgraded to a Nob or something say "one Boy may be upgraded to a Nob" whereas all of the unique characters say "instead of a Nob the mob may be led by". This tells me that you do not pay for a regular Kommado/Flash Git/Storm Boy and "upgrade them" you meerly have a squad "led by" these individuals at the additional cost specified.
04-21-09 03:33 PM
Sebi never trust anything except your own brains..... ;)
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome