Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Chainsword extra attacks Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
08-12-17 02:11 PM
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
The extra attack is from that weapon only, this attack has nothing to do with the unit attack profile. It is in addition to that profile.
Bang on. So long as the model equipped with a chainsword is attacking in combat it can make one additional attack with the chainsword's profile.
08-11-17 07:25 PM
scscofield The ability for Chainsword states: Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with THISweapon.

I highlighted the important part I feel. The way that reads to me is that the extra attack is only a chainsword attack, no matter what other weapons they have.

With your example it would be 2 attacks with the axe then it could take 1 extra attack with the chainsword. Or 3 chainsword, or 2 sword 1 axe, ect ect.

The extra attack is from that weapon only, this attack has nothing to do with the unit attack profile. It is in addition to that profile.

It is like how the Thunderwolf Cav get extra attacks for their mount.
08-11-17 07:06 PM
Shandathe Given the wording is "each time the bearer fights", mere possession is enough. You can use the Chainaxe twice and the Chainsword once.

Contrast other weapons like the Power Fist, which use "when attacking with this weapon".
08-11-17 06:47 PM
Angel of Blood
Chainsword extra attacks

Ok, so this is something that has come up in our hobby group at the moment.

Chainswords give an additional attack, using the statline of the chainsword. The question is, if you have multiple weapons, do you have to split and allocate one of your attacks to the chainsword in order to get the additional attack?

For example, a Khorne Bezerker has a chainsword and a chainaxe. He has 2 attacks base. Can he use both of these attacks with the superior chainaxe statline and then make a third attack with the chainsword for having one eqipped. OR. Does he have to split and get 1 attack with the chainaxe and use his second attack with the chainsword and thus gain an additional(and third) attack?

I though it was the latter option and was sure I had read it in one of the FAQ's, but I now can't see anything that says that. The closest I can find is::

"Q. If a model is equipped with two chainswords, do they get to
make 2 extra close combat attacks?
A. Yes (though both must be made with a chainsword)."

This presumably means both the additional attacks are using the chainsword statline. So doesn't help much.

Cheers for any comments, thoughts etc.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome