Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Some IG questions Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
01-28-07 09:48 PM
don_mondo Well, it's confusing because the FAQ disagrees with the test in the codex. Bear in mind that these FAQs were written to allow us to continue to us our "old Codex" in 4th ed. There are two parts of the FAQ related to this discussion.

1. The boosted Leadership works for the Officer's Leadership rule. So any unit within 12" of the Officer can test at LD 10 (Assuming HSO or Honorifica with Commissar).

2. Special rules such as Iron D, etc do not work down a Vox link.

01-13-07 04:27 AM
uberschveinen Nothing quite like the actual text in question to solve problems. With writing that clear, I'm surprised so damn many people get it confused.
01-02-07 09:24 PM
Antioch Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presense of a Commisar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."

With that said, it's a pretty glaringly obvious no. As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commisar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.
12-29-06 09:17 AM
jigplums the old faq's are still the current interpretation of the rules. they just get replaced when the new codex comes out, and then the new faq comes out relevent to the new codex.
12-29-06 03:27 AM
sportman Wait another thing is if I take an Independant Commissar can he go and attach himself to either a conscript or rattling squad and give them all LD 10? That would solve many of my problems.
12-28-06 05:42 PM
Necrontyr Well yes it is, because there isn't a 4th edition Guard codex, there is only an old codex...
12-28-06 05:40 PM
Originally Posted by Necrontyr
According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.
If you go to the Erratas page you'll notice that that FAQ is in the Old Codex FAQs section.
12-28-06 05:10 PM
Necrontyr I'm curious as to how you came to this conclusion PadreJim? I'm not against it, as my infantry army uses a vox network extensively and this would be an awesome addition!

As I read it though:
Codex: Ld+1 Applies to leadership checkls the command squad has to take.

According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.

But then it also says that the +1 LD does appy to his command rule. The command rule doesn't affect the vox network though... so I'm not sure how that applies.

Just curious as to your interpretation.
12-28-06 04:35 PM
cccp apparently the +1 does go through the vox. ask pardre jim.
12-28-06 03:08 PM
Necrontyr Ok, the HI gives a JO ld9, the Commissar than gives him a +1 for all leadership checks the Command squad has to take, and only those checks. It does not apply to other squads using his leadership. Since Vox checks are not leadership checks the Command Squad is taking, they do not get the +1 bonus. They do get to use the Ld of 9 however.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome