Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Jink & Go to Ground at the same time? Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-05-16 08:38 AM
Alex Yeah just read that last night. Glad they cleared that one up for me. Best news for me was my suits now get to overwatch with two guns.
05-04-16 07:34 PM
Angel of Blood
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex View Post
I've been trying out the Mont'ka Drone Net formation in my lists recently, lot of special rules added to it but the important one here is jink. As I read it, I would jink the drones before shots are taken and can still go to ground after all hits/wounds are done, so they benefit from a 3+ cover save.

To my knowledge this is the only unit that has jink that can also go to ground, as other units with it are usually bikes/jetbikes and vehicles, so it does seem a bit cheesy.

Anyone got any thoughts on it?
For an update dude, the new FAQ says no, you cannot do that.
04-07-16 12:43 PM
Alex Yeah, the way I run them as speed bumps it's not too much of a problem losing movement.

Though they often have to make use of their interceptor in the preceding players turn so may stick with just the jink there, not being able to do anything is a bit of a waste.

Yeah not so much cheesy, more not RAI. Running all suits means I haven't made much use of the jinking transports...though 2+ Jinking Barracuda is fun.

Yeah that 2+ cover save is why I am glad the wall of mirrors with the ghostkeel exists.
04-07-16 12:21 PM
Rush Darling Looks very valid. Jink is a double edged sword at the end of the day, and going to ground makes you even closer to useless than jink does.

It's an interesting option to have, but it's hell of a reduction in capabilites for the sake of survival. Personally I'd just stick with jink.

Not cheesy at all imho, just unexpected. Considering Tau have access to 3+ jinking transports, jinking drones shouldn't really upset anybody.

(It's also got nothing on 2+ Re-rollable jink saves, HI RAVEN WING).
04-07-16 09:27 AM
Alex
Jink & Go to Ground at the same time?

I've been trying out the Mont'ka Drone Net formation in my lists recently, lot of special rules added to it but the important one here is jink. As I read it, I would jink the drones before shots are taken and can still go to ground after all hits/wounds are done, so they benefit from a 3+ cover save.

To my knowledge this is the only unit that has jink that can also go to ground, as other units with it are usually bikes/jetbikes and vehicles, so it does seem a bit cheesy.

Anyone got any thoughts on it?

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome