Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Shooting upon exiting a Drop Pod. Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
03-21-16 02:20 PM
Originally Posted by Orochi View Post
I was wondering about creating an 'anti-infantry' zone in turn one. I like to play deployment games.
Not a fan of 'green marines' just like how I don't play 'red marines'. I can dig that.

Not that this is anywhere near as cost effective as @Rush's suggestion, but have you ever considered putting your Deathwing Terminators into Drop Pods for that T1 glory they used to have?
03-21-16 11:49 AM
Rush Darling If you're after deep striking / mobile heavy bolters, might I suggest land speeders?

3 of them with dual heavy bolters kick out 18 shots at full BS for a smidge more than 4 HBs (for 12 snap shots) in a 5 man podded dev squad. Only downside being they're in on turn 2, but why not just start them on the board?

It's my go too build for dealing with thunderwolf spam at the moment, not to mention wulfen (AP 4 darlings!)

Dakka dakka.

Side note:- If possible, avoid squadroning them.
03-21-16 12:04 AM
Orochi Ah, this is for DA. I was wondering about creating an 'anti-infantry' zone in turn one. I like to play deployment games.

and thank you, @Tyriks . That was the answer I was after.
03-20-16 10:59 PM
ntaw If you want Devs in Pods to not shoot snap shots play the Skyhammer Formation.
03-20-16 10:46 PM
Tyriks From the BRB (emphasis mine):
"After disembarking, models can manifest their psychic powers and either shoot or Run in their subsequent Shooting phase, counting as having moved that turn, but they cannot declare a charge in their subsequent Assault phase. If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy turn, it cannot charge in the Assault phase of its own turn unless the destroyed vehicle had the Assault Vehicle special rule."
03-20-16 10:41 PM
Shooting upon exiting a Drop Pod.


Can you help solve a little dilemma for me - I do not have access to my rulebook currently.

When a unit leaves a drop pod (on the turn it arrives) does count as having moved?

I am considering a unit of Dev's in a DP with 4 heavy bolters. Would they only be able to fire Snap Shots on the turn of arrival?

many thanks

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome