Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: marks of gods and psychic focus Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
03-22-16 01:24 AM
Mossy Toes Yup, sounds like what I was talking about with the ITC faq--depends on local standards. Good that you figured this out before whatever local events you were planning on attending!
03-21-16 10:47 PM
Woodzee316 ok a new development has just been brought to my attention by our local tournament organiser. Our official tournaments in Australia are run to the ANZ40kFAQ.
under psychic rules FAQ it states

4. A psyker with a mark of Chaos or a Daemon of a particular Chaos god can never make use of Psychic focus, but Chaos psychic focus always applies.

So under this FAQ ruling I can't actually take my one spell from another discipline and grab the freebie primaris. Which I would believe to be RAI.

There we go.
03-20-16 12:04 PM
Rush Darling Learning all the things today!

I'll have another read through the psychic phase when I get back to my cave, just to get in straight in my head. More questions may follow xD

Much appreciated though, thanks guys.
03-20-16 10:23 AM
Xabre
Quote:
Originally Posted by alt-f4 View Post
So, a Keeper of Secrets rolling up all its powers from the Telepathy list gains the Telepathy free Primaris, then the Slaanesh free Primaris due to the Chaos Focus rule ?
Due to the poor wording in the BRB, yes. But it ONLY works with Demons of Chaos, and not anyone else.
03-19-16 11:59 PM
alt-f4 So, a Keeper of Secrets rolling up all its powers from the Telepathy list gains the Telepathy free Primaris, then the Slaanesh free Primaris due to the Chaos Focus rule ?
03-19-16 10:47 PM
Woodzee316 I don't have my BRB with me so paraphrasing from memory back in the rules when it talks of psychic focus it also says marked psykers can never gain psychic focus however they gain the primaris power from their mark for free.

So I suppose in this situation the aspiring sorcerer gets to roll on the table and then gets the primaris for free. otherwise they would be just stuck with the primaris because they know have two spells from tzeentch although they are only ML1.
03-19-16 09:42 PM
ntaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level.
tell that to Librarius Conclaves.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
There is another line further in the psychic rules that basically say 'keep casting till you run dry of dice'.
This one is the key.
03-19-16 09:38 PM
Mossy Toes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
The exact quote from the rules is: The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level. HOWEVER, it never clearly states HOW it's dependent.
Well, given that a unit can only attempt to cast each power it knows once, it's limited in the number it can cast by how many it knows, I suppose.
03-19-16 08:53 PM
Xabre
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post

Is it really that much of a problem? Unless I'm mistaken (and at the risk of starting a whole other discussion) psykers can only cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level.
Additional shoddy rules-writing.

The exact quote from the rules is: The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level. HOWEVER, it never clearly states HOW it's dependent.

General consensus is that since level dictates how many powers they can learn, then that's how many they can cast.

There is another line further in the psychic rules that basically say 'keep casting till you run dry of dice'.

(Can you tell I've had this discussion recently?)
03-19-16 07:43 PM
ntaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
As INTENDED, Horrors could take Daemonology and get the free Primaris.

As WRITTEN, they take Daemonology, get the free Primaris, and get the Change Primaris.
Checked and double checked and I fully agree. Not that I play Daemons/Chaos, but I face them a lot so this is pertinent info for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post
Unless I'm mistaken (and at the risk of starting a whole other discussion) psykers can only cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level.
You are mistaken. While this may have been the case in previous editions I'm still trying to forget, it is not the case in 7th edition.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post
iven the issues I have getting multiple psykers to cast even a single power each reliably, it doesn't sound all that broken to me
I've faced Daemon lists with 15+ masterly level points. They do what they want in the psychic phase
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome