Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Dark Angels Detachments vs. Formations Rules Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
07-06-15 10:45 PM
ntaw me including 'feeling fuzzy inside' didn't tip you off to it being a joke, eh? @Vaz , chill out. MS looks like he took it for what it was and I did edit my post to include the appropirate grammar.
07-06-15 09:20 PM
Viciator I agree with Vaz, let's not get into a conflict over grammar etc.

I got all my answers, thank you very much everyone!
07-06-15 09:14 PM
Vaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
EDIT: capitalized for @MidnightSun 's scrutiny. Feel all warm and fuzzy inside yet?
No idea if this is an in joke or an attempt at humour, but it was a valid comment for the sake of a rules question in a rules discussion on a rules forum. Maybe lay off the attitude, or perhaps thank him for providing correct information pertinent to the discussion.

Or, you know, pull on big boy pants and ignore it?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
07-06-15 09:13 PM
MidnightSun
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
EDIT: capitalized for @MidnightSun 's scrutiny. Feel all warm and fuzzy inside yet?
I just feel like it makes it a little more clear to add definition when you're referring to two things called allies...

But yes, I do
07-06-15 07:33 PM
MidnightSun All Allied Detachments (note the capital letters) are allied units, but not all allied units are from Allied Detachments (note the capital letters).
07-06-15 07:16 PM
ntaw An Allied Detachment gives you Objective Secured on your Troops selections, and an allied Formation will give the units in that Formation whatever rules that Formation states. In either case, there are different unit requirements.

that was fun to type.

EDIT: capitalized for @MidnightSun 's scrutiny. Feel all warm and fuzzy inside yet?
07-06-15 09:43 AM
Xabre Well, think about it like you did with your list you posted in the other thread.

You had a Ravenwing Strike Force, and multiple Ravenwing Attack Squadrons.

Technically, each formation or detachment that you're using is ALLIED with each other.

So right now, your army is this:

Ravenwing Strike Force DETACHMENT (Primary Detachment).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).

Yes, these are all the same codex and book, so the fact that their allies are lost in the fact that they'er all one big happy family. But at the very core of the Detachment/Formation system, that's what happens.

Now the ALLIED DETACHMENT is a very specific rules set from the main rule book. It says you can have 1 HQ, 1-2 Troops, and then 0-1 Elite, 0-1 Fast, and 0-1 Heavy. It can't be from the same faction as your Primary Detachment.

The Siegebreaker Cohort that you mentioned can't be an ALLIED DETACHMENT, because it has its own rules and it's own very specific selections to take; no models can ever be part of two different Formations at the same time (unless we're talking something like the Lion's Blade).

So instead, you could have something like this.

Ravenwing Strike Force DETACHMENT (Primary Detachment).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).
Siegebreaker Cohort FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).

or

Ravenwing Strike Force DETACHMENT (Primary Detachment).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).
White Scar ALLIED DETACHMENT (ally).

The issue that a lot of people get caught up in is that ALLIED DETACHMENT and 'ally' share a word, so people assume it's the same. Happens a LOT with Tau Empire and Farsight.

And to answer your question specifically! Allies in general simply are two parts of your army, and they interact based on the Matrix in the main rule book. General rule of thumb is that the Imperium Branches, especially marines, treat each other as Battle Brothers, which mean they may as well be one massive army. The Allied Detachment gives you almost nothing, except a way to get in another army that might not have any of its own formations yet, in just a small scoop (as few as one troop and hq).
07-06-15 09:20 AM
Viciator
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
It would not work as an Allied Detachment, because an Allied Detachment is specifically one HQ, 1-2 Troops and 0-1 FA, Elite and Heavy.

But it could be an ally in your army. As i said, you can add as many different detachments into your army as you can fit in the points (or the tournament allows).
What do you mean by just 'ally'? Are there any differences between what an Ally will give you, and an Allied Detachment give you?
07-06-15 08:56 AM
Xabre It would not work as an Allied Detachment, because an Allied Detachment is specifically one HQ, 1-2 Troops and 0-1 FA, Elite and Heavy.

But it could be an ally in your army. As i said, you can add as many different detachments into your army as you can fit in the points (or the tournament allows).
07-06-15 03:07 AM
Viciator
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
No shit, they are. They're riiight next to black knights in the pictu...er...page layout, I barely noticed the little unit designation symbol difference.
Seriously is it that hard to proof read a codex? You know before it's printed... you can spend an hour on it and you'd find all the mistakes...

Thanks for all the help guys!

ntaw I was thinking of getting that Space Marine Centurion Siegebreaker Cohort Formation - would that work as an Allied Detachment?
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome