Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
Wargaming News and 40k Rumors Discuss and share wargaming news, new releases, warhammer and 40k rumors here.

Thread: Necrons 7th edition Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
02-03-15 02:39 AM
ntaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
Though its worded ambiguously IMO.
I don't think it's very ambiguous, it states specifically that RP modifiers stack and that Instant Death weapons give you -1 to the dice after they are rolled if the weapons causing the wound also causes Instant Death. The thing that doesn't seem to surface is why, exactly, RP bonuses stack if they cannot be improved past a 4+.
02-02-15 09:28 PM
falcoso
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Except Tomb Blades are FA and Immortals are Troops, fulfilling different roles within your FOC. I would've been completely fine with a compulsory 1 HQ, 2 Troops, 1 FA Detachment...I love my Scarabs!

EDIT: I have this wrong. Instant Death is a -1 modifier to your dice after they roll for RP, not to the RP roll. I'm still trying to figure out why RP bonuses are cumulative...
True though in a decurion FoC role is irrelevent, I mean I see it more like an HQ 2 troops and slightly better troops for slightly more points :D

OH yeah, I always assumed it would just apply to when Cryptek+Everliving with an ID weapon. Though its worded ambiguously IMO. Though it also says that certain rules apply modifiers to 'this dice roll' so when it says +1 to RP that is +1 to the roll for RP so would work in the way we originally thought.
02-01-15 09:25 PM
ntaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
Although tomb blades are considerably better in the new book, and I would happily take them over immortals any day
Except Tomb Blades are FA and Immortals are Troops, fulfilling different roles within your FOC. I would've been completely fine with a compulsory 1 HQ, 2 Troops, 1 FA Detachment...I love my Scarabs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
when in fact a cryptek is practically irrelevant in a decurion (though totally worth it in any other detachment)
There is worth. His extra bonus to RPs keeps them rolling at 4+ when wounded by Instant Death weapons, which otherwise reduce RP rolls by 1. It took me a while to figure out why they said bonuses were cumulative but can never increase past 4+, this is at least one example of why the +2 bonus is nice.

EDIT: I have this wrong. Instant Death is a -1 modifier to your dice after they roll for RP, not to the RP roll. I'm still trying to figure out why RP bonuses are cumulative...
02-01-15 07:50 PM
falcoso
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
maybe I'll even come to like the Tomb Blades that I'll inevitably buy (since I won't be spending $80 on a book for a page of rules on a Detachment to use in games)
Although tomb blades are considerably better in the new book, and I would happily take them over immortals any day (3pts more for twin link tr 5 Ap 4 rapid fire guns that ignore cover? Yeah that works pretty nicely).

Though I appreciate you point. For instance I have alsways like destroyer lords, yet to take one i have to have 9 other destroyers in my list, which is totally excessive. Or a roayl court which requires a second overlord to get access to and you have to take a lord AND cryptek, when in fact a cryptek is practically irrelevant in a decurion (though totally worth it in any other detachment)
02-01-15 06:20 PM
Zion
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
What on earth... This is the best damn way to build an army.

Now you bonuses on top of bonuses for taking particular unit combinations.

This is essentially giving you bonuses for playing Unbound, with a small 500pt unit tax.
I wouldn't call this "unbound" since the rules for it make a distinction between the Decurion and Unbound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
To be fair I didn't know about the Mephrit Dynasty Detachment at all. I don't buy the campaign books because I'm rarely that interested in them (or carrying around a library to play the game), though I'm coming to see that they do sometimes add very relevant rules to the game. The Formations are sweet but I've always been turned off by them (for any army) because it feels like I'm playing GW's army and not my own. I guess I'll have to check this book out and see what's up with this Mephrit Detachment.

@Zion thanks for pointing that out, as I mentioned I had no idea it existed. Unfortunately though, the book costs more than a box of Tomb Blades and it still feels like a cash grab when they already have my cash. Way she goes, I know, and it doesn't make a difference how I feel about it...but I think it sucks. I'll still collect Necrons and be happy playing them, maybe I'll even come to like the Tomb Blades that I'll inevitably buy (since I won't be spending $80 on a book for a page of rules on a Detachment to use in games). Ultimately it's just one more thing GW's done/doing that is making me buy into other game systems and slow down this one. I had much larger aspirations for my BA and Cron armies before they got updated books, now I just want to round out what units I have and paint.
Mephrit adds 3 additional relics, a different Warlord table and a non-standard FOC (1 HQ, 3 Troops to start and can take up to 1 more HQ, 5 more Troops, 3 Elite, 3 FA, 3HS, 1 LoW, 1 Fortification. It lets you re-roll 1s on Reanimation Proticols and re-roll on the Mephrit Warlord chart) that doesn't let you use the Tesseract Vault. It also has a couple of formations as well (the C'Tan one is a C'Tan and 2 Crypteks, and one of the Relics gives the C'Tan +1S/T while the Cryptek carrying it is alive).
02-01-15 05:17 PM
ntaw To be fair I didn't know about the Mephrit Dynasty Detachment at all. I don't buy the campaign books because I'm rarely that interested in them (or carrying around a library to play the game), though I'm coming to see that they do sometimes add very relevant rules to the game. The Formations are sweet but I've always been turned off by them (for any army) because it feels like I'm playing GW's army and not my own. I guess I'll have to check this book out and see what's up with this Mephrit Detachment.

@Zion thanks for pointing that out, as I mentioned I had no idea it existed. Unfortunately though, the book costs more than a box of Tomb Blades and it still feels like a cash grab when they already have my cash. Way she goes, I know, and it doesn't make a difference how I feel about it...but I think it sucks. I'll still collect Necrons and be happy playing them, maybe I'll even come to like the Tomb Blades that I'll inevitably buy (since I won't be spending $80 on a book for a page of rules on a Detachment to use in games). Ultimately it's just one more thing GW's done/doing that is making me buy into other game systems and slow down this one. I had much larger aspirations for my BA and Cron armies before they got updated books, now I just want to round out what units I have and paint.
02-01-15 05:06 PM
Vaz What on earth... This is the best damn way to build an army.

Now you bonuses on top of bonuses for taking particular unit combinations.

This is essentially giving you bonuses for playing Unbound, with a small 500pt unit tax.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
02-01-15 04:29 PM
MidnightSun
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
And they're not going to give you access to any consolation prize rules by giving you an actual alternative to the Combined Arms Detachment, just Formations. Seems pretty damn limiting for Necron players.
On the other hand, Ever-Living is an insane Command Benefit, and a Reclamation Legion + Canoptek Harvests and Annihilation Nexus formations is basically all the stuff you'd want anyway (the Nexus is not ideal, perhaps, but the Harvest is amazing).

And, as said, you can just bring a Mephrit Dynasty/Combined Arms and then add the formations you want (although the only one you'd willingly bring outside of a Decurion is probably the Harvest).
02-01-15 04:16 PM
Zion Don't forget there is the Mephrit detachment in Exterminatus @ntaw .
02-01-15 03:21 PM
ntaw Just reading over the Codex now, there is no Detachment for the 'Crons like the Nemesis or Baal Strike Force but only the Decurion Detachment information which is a series of Formations that you can potentially take large groups of units in. It seems like the benefit for having a Decurion Detachment stacks with the benefits of the Formations you include as outlined at the back of the book (offering you dual RP bonuses for the Reclamation Legion, both army wide and Overlord specific), the catch is that the Decurion Detachment requires that for each Core choice you have to include 1-10 Auxiliary choices (ie. more models). You can however not choose to take a Decurion Detachment (and forgo the army-wide RP bonus) and just take the Formations as listed in the back of the book and still have a Battle Forged army as per the standard Formation rules in the BRB.

In short, the book has tons of Formations and if you take them as a Decurion Detachment instead of groups of Formations you get an extra bonus to your RP rolls army wide and your Living Metal ignores Crew Shaken/Stunned. It's cool to see such a vast expanse of special rules, but it totally pigeonholes people into buying more stuff to fill out potentially empty pockets of formation unit requirements unless they want to play without any army flavour and just stick to Combined Arms/Allied Detachments as per the BRB.

For example, if I don't buy Tomb Blades (which I never thought of or wanted in my army, really) I don't get to capitalize on fuck all for RP manipulation from Detachment rules. Furthermore, if I wanted to add only one unit selection of any type I would continue to keep those special rules at arms reach.

....I'm really not sure how I feel about it to be honest with you. Here's a TON of character to add in to your army but only if you can buy all the models GW thinks you should have to capitalize on them.

And they're not going to give you access to any consolation prize rules by giving you an actual alternative to the Combined Arms Detachment, just Formations. Seems pretty damn limiting for Necron players.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome