Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Daemonology (new spells!) Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-31-14 06:01 PM
mayegelt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ork Mad View Post
you may take up to 4 heralds (per primary detachment) however it takes up a HQ slot
FAQ changed it to just Per Detactment, so even allies and stuff can have them. Also if he has 4+ troop choices in his army he can have 2-4 HQs as you are no longer limited on how many FOC you can take at any amount of pts, so long as you fill it with the mandatory units.
Let the cheep 16pts a model Nurgle CSM troops roll in... Gotta love having 12 squads of 7 of them for less than 1500pts and just add in 2 HQ and a couple of maulers for support to build you up to 1850
05-28-14 11:26 AM
Ork Mad you may take up to 4 heralds (per primary detachment) however it takes up a HQ slot
05-28-14 10:22 AM
whittsy @Ork Mad . The Daemons of Chais codex States you may take 4 heralds in a primary detachment. I dunno if that stops you from taking 2 GDs as your HQs though, I'm not 100% on that rule.
05-28-14 08:03 AM
Ork Mad if you're worried that they might not survive a turn why not summon screamers, though they may be less points then the other options, they can turbo boost the turn they come down and use their slashing attacks and with a 4+ cover save from jink, they might survive to charge and (hopefully) destroy a vehicle next turn.

on another note (right back to the start) @whittsy how'd you get 2 grater daemons and 4 heralds in a single detachment (i'm assuming it's only one detachment and not an unbound one) as that takes up 3 HQ choices
05-27-14 07:55 PM
falcoso
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post

And I can't help but feel that Plague Drones are the way to go, there, rather than Bloodcrushers, in terms of suvivability. They don't have power swords, true, but they are one of the fastest Nurgle (Daemons) units out there...
yeah I think if you can't summon more than a unit a turn then you want to go nurgle for the pure reason that you get shrouded on all your units and depending on your placement you may actually get a reasonable save
05-27-14 06:21 PM
mayegelt Ahh my mistake... Didn't even see that spell on there, don't know why I kept missing it looking at the posts about the cards . Still no book of my own... borrowed a friends one while at work today to skim over.

Sorry to those I said couldn't do it
05-27-14 06:00 PM
Mossy Toes
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
Though as I keep saying you CANT SUMMON BLOODCRUSHERS!!!

10 Letters OR Bearers OR Horrors OR Daemonettes
OR
5 Hounds OR Seekers.
3 Nurglings OR Flamers,
Maybe if you read the other power, not the primaris, that lets you summon 3 Bloodcrushers OR Plague Drones OR Fiends OR Screamers, you wouldn't be making that mistake.

And I can't help but feel that Plague Drones are the way to go, there, rather than Bloodcrushers, in terms of suvivability. They don't have power swords, true, but they are one of the fastest Nurgle (Daemons) units out there...
05-27-14 05:20 PM
mayegelt
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
My mistake it is 3. But still the deamons most likely to survive a turn are bloodcrushers as they are T4 which is harder to kill or plaguebearers, for the same reason but the also have shrouded (though less offensive capability than bloodcrushers).

It also didn't help you had some uncanny rolling of 6s....
Edited to remove stupidity
05-27-14 04:29 PM
Mossy Toes
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
So if you play with any LOS blocking terrain at all, like you should do, then you can replace the Grimoire or Portalglyph whenever it dies?
Don't have the Daemon dex open, but pretty sure says you may only take one of them in your army, not that you can only have one on the field at any time. Taking it once counts as having bought the unique item, insofar as I remember it...
05-27-14 04:13 PM
MidnightSun So if you play with any LOS blocking terrain at all, like you should do, then you can replace the Grimoire or Portalglyph whenever it dies?

That's hilarious.

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
My mistake it is 3. But still the deamons most likely to survive a turn are bloodcrushers as they are T4 which is harder to kill or plaguebearers, for the same reason but the also have shrouded (though less offensive capability than bloodcrushers).

It also didn't help you had some uncanny rolling of 6s....
Tyranid Warriors with a 5++ and no armour save are not hard to kill. Hell, a single Devastator Squad with Missile Launchers will rip right through them. Or a Battle Cannon, or a squad of Meltas, or like a single Tactical Squad.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome