|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|03-14-14 07:11 PM|
|LukeValantine||I am personally going to take the divination sorc, but that's mainly because my typical CSM list has 10-16 heavy weapons in it on various platforms so any of the divination powers would be devastating in my force regardless of the initial cost of inclusion. Hell even 4 missile launchers that ignore cover is a god send for 25pts.|
|03-09-14 03:58 PM|
I suppose I'm going to withhold my ultimate judgments until I see the rules for myself, but I'm slightly disappointed with what I've read so far.
Feel free to think I'm a whiner and roll your eyes at me, because I'm sure I deserve it, but:
Divination: AWESOME, but... artifact to unlock a psychic table? So, we pay yet another tax? Does it only unlock Divination for one Sorcerer, or does taking the artifact unlock it for the whole army? I'd be fine with the latter, but I have a very strong feeling it's the former. Don't get me wrong, I'd pay it in a heartbeat because I love Divination, but it seems sort of... I dunno, lame, to need to. If more than 1 Sorc has access to Divination, I can see Crimson Slaughter replacing CSM as my Primary Detachment, but I'm just very skeptical that GW would give us that much Divination. I am dreaming of some very evil CSM/Daemon deathstars that will probably never see the light of day (which is probably a good thing we need less broken units, not more).
I guess if you were to compare the cost of bringing an allied detachment of Daemons with bringing a Tzherald with Divination, 25 points is a far cheaper tax. Also, a Sorcerer is waaaaay cooler, to be sure. So from that perspective, it's a great deal. I'd probably only be bringing 1 Tzherald anyway, so in the end I'd have more points and then not need the stupid unit of Pink Horrors that in ~5 games has yet to use a psychic power.
Possessed: I never use them, the changes are cool in theory, but I don't think I'll be buying any.
The AP3 kill-buffed weapon doesn't impress me, either. It's a neat idea, but 10 kills for a force weapon? Yes, there are other buffs along the way, but any number of things can go wrong that prevent you from even getting 1. A power sword is 15 points, so if this artifact is no more than 25 points I'd say it balances out. Perhaps my criticisms are a bit too negative about this item, but by the gods, PLEASE let there be more than 2 artifacts in the book.
Really, the big question I have is this: Do we have to pay a stupid tax for units in this book, like VotLW with Black Legion? Has that been answered in the rumors yet? Haven't seen anything about that yet.
Still very excited to see details about the (possible) Possessed Lord, the pretty pictures and read the fluff, and hopefully some cool artifacts aside from the 2 leaked so far.
|03-09-14 01:52 PM|
That's a bummer. More randomness is not a help here. Unless the player can purchase some basic upgrades and then have mutation for additional upgrades.
It's a bummer (and amazing) how many units remain unusable since the 3.5 codex
|03-09-14 12:42 PM|
Originally Posted by Uveron View Post
They're not good, they may be good in some kind of imaginary, fluffy vacuum where you can afford to pay for two and something marines that don't really do anything that any other choice of scoring models in your army can do better, but that world has nothing to do with reality.
It doesn't matter how cute their random rules get, it's still a one in three chance to get the only thing that will help them actually get into assault, which still doesn't really make them a good assault unit either.
|03-09-14 06:28 AM|
Originally Posted by Mokuren View Post
The view after looking at the book, was that it wasn't going to be great for an army but for an allies detachment two units of scoring Possessed, with a 'Possessed' lord, would be quite a nice bonus for a CSM or Deamon army.
|03-09-14 05:51 AM|
|venomlust||My bad. Thought I was on a different thread when I posted.|
|03-09-14 01:19 AM|
|Einherjar667||I was adding to Luke's post, but ok. If you want to bring possessed, this book allows you to bring more. That was as far as my point goes.|
|03-09-14 12:54 AM|
Originally Posted by Einherjar667 View Post
Them turning maybe beasts if you roll lucky at the beginning of the turn is only worth anything if they're alive enough to get anywhere, and don't start telling me you can bring more or cover their advance with the rest of your army: they're Possessed, they cost twice as much as a space marine, you won't have enough of them to be a threat and you won't have enough of a "rest of the army" to save them from anything.
Possessed were shit before, now they're just whipped shit with sugar topping.
|03-08-14 11:04 PM|
|Einherjar667||Plus, ya know, you can bring more of them.|
|03-08-14 10:23 PM|
Originally Posted by slaaneshy View Post
|This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|