Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
Thread: 1,993pts for a 1,999pt game: Undead Space Elves Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
10-08-13 06:49 AM
darklove
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayromandell View Post
Good luck getting a TO to sign off on that.
That makes no difference, TOs always make random decisions. I once had one tell me that rapid fire weapons could allowed you to shoot and assault, and that you could use the AP of a shooting weapon in CC (in 5th ed).
I've given up on TOs as any source of useful decisions or rulings.
10-08-13 05:30 AM
jayromandell Good luck getting a TO to sign off on that.
10-07-13 08:03 PM
ew_holmes That seems to be true. An explode does not seem to cause a disembark of any kind. They take pinning in either case, but RAW it appears they are allowed to charge after an Explodes result.
10-07-13 07:56 PM
darklove
Quote:
Originally Posted by ew_holmes View Post
Again rules glazing. "... cannot declare a charge in their subsequent Assault phase." Meaning the unit's, meaning the player's.

Can't get around it. You're running the length of the board, or taking a turn being a pincushion as Wraithguard.
Therefore hoping for an explode result, as this does not found as disembarking.
10-07-13 07:45 PM
ew_holmes
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklove View Post
Yes, but you can't assault in your opponent's assault phase anyway.
Again rules glazing. "... cannot declare a charge in their subsequent Assault phase." Meaning the unit's, meaning the player's.

Can't get around it. You're running the length of the board, or taking a turn being a pincushion as Wraithguard.
10-07-13 07:28 PM
darklove Yes, but you can't assault in your opponent's assault phase anyway.
If you disembark a wreck in your opponent's turn there is nothing in the rules to prevent you assaulting in your own turn.
10-07-13 06:01 PM
ew_holmes You're really glazing over the rules here. All page 80 says is the make a normal disembarkation, which is explained on 79. One of the restrictions of a disembarkation is that you cannot assault in the subsequent assault phase.
10-07-13 05:21 PM
darklove Units disembark from wrecks as normal, and are then able to move, shoot and assault as normal in their own turn. If the transport explodes then some units might be affected by being pinned, but this is not an issue for fearless units, as in this case.
See p80, BRB.
10-07-13 01:20 PM
ew_holmes
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklove View Post
I think the Holofields might be useful in some situation, but I almost want the Wave Serpents to get blown up so that the Wraithguard can get an assault in their next turn.
Hey Darklove, even emergency disembarks (from a vehicle explode/wreck) count as disembarking the following turn I believe. So the unit of Wraithguard cannot charge the following turn. They can move/run/shoot normally, but not assault.

I would love some verification on this, but I play with some pretty knowledgeable people (including several GW employees) and this is how our circle handles the rule.
10-06-13 08:39 AM
darklove This was one of the reasons for considering the Heavy Weapon Platforms. I would hope to weaken a point in the enemy lines and then concentrate all the Wraithguard on that point. Because the units are quite small, but also quite deadly, it makes sense to concentrate them where they can be most effective.
Tactically I would need to disembark the units in the place that they can do maximum damage, and where the enemy response would be limited. The Wave Serpents can then usually attack from behind the enemy's lines, and provide a screen to prevent the majority of the enemy army returning effective fire.
Careful management of resources required, me thinks.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome