Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: transport disembarking / movement clarification Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-07-13 05:55 PM
Jam123456 i feel this needs a question to GW faq's. will look on their web page to see where to send it. If we have mixed ideas of the rules then other must too and i would like to get a proper rule that i know is correct because however much i would like to play the rules to my advantage ( i like a good argument and informed debate) i would not like to be seen as cheating or have others think i'm taking advantage in any way. and the rules should set a level playing field.
05-06-13 05:38 PM
Jam123456 i would agree with mags and tim/steve on this.

pivot isn't movement so i think it probably needs a FAQ update to clarify for sure however i read it as if the unit disembarks from the vehicle after it has moved you can't flat out.
If it didn't move or it only pivoted before disembarkation in can still flat out. the disembarking is movement by the unit in the transport not the transport.
still not worth taking star engines on eldar.
05-06-13 12:49 PM
Tim/Steve You can turbo boost if you pivot before disembarking. The rule on P71 means that at the end of the moving phase you count as being stationary through the movement phase if you only pivot.... so by the time you turbo boost you "didn't" move before disembarking. As this kicks in at the end of the movement phase that doesn't allow you to do a standard move after disembark.


Of course there is the counter argument that you haven't "only" pivoted as you've also disembarked a unit... to me that's an action for the unit not the transport but if someone wants to split hairs and argue there's not a lot I can see to prove it one way or other.
05-06-13 11:27 AM
fatmantis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I'm not so sure. The vehicle could have pivoted but that doesn't count as moving so the vehicle hasn't moved before the unit disembarked, it has ended it's movement phase tho'.
well mags, i see it this way, if you wish to move your vehicle or simply "pivot" then you choose to do another action with another unit you would have "finished" movement with the vehicle,yes i know pivoting is not a movement but in this case it is clearly counted as one,so i cant see how you can "pivot" then disembark a unit the move the tank then flat out, i think that's stretching it a bit. i think it s quite clear, you have to make a choice either to
a: disembark-then the tanks cant flat out - as it "cant move further"
b: move the tank and flat out

i look at it this way, like chess once you taken your hand off the piece that's it finished.
05-06-13 07:55 AM
Magpie_Oz
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatmantis View Post
incorrect
pg 79BRB "rfthe vehicle had already
moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move
further (including pivoting on the spot)

so it cannot flat out
I'm not so sure. The vehicle could have pivoted but that doesn't count as moving so the vehicle hasn't moved before the unit disembarked, it has ended it's movement phase tho'.
05-05-13 05:33 PM
Jam123456 From the rules i think if the unit disembarks from the vehicle after it has moved you can't flat out.

If it didn't move or it only pivoted in can still flat out.
05-05-13 12:45 AM
fatmantis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suijin View Post
The vehicle could flat out move in the shooting phase though.
incorrect
pg 79BRB "rfthe vehicle had already
moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move
further (including pivoting on the spot)

so it cannot flat out
05-04-13 04:12 PM
Jam123456 ok well thats as i thought shame as eldar have exit at rear but never mind. sure i can work out tactics with two jumping over each other and leap frogging.
05-03-13 06:24 PM
Suijin The vehicle could flat out move in the shooting phase though.
05-03-13 05:22 PM
Tim/Steve You can't pivot, disembark then move.

A pivot is clearly a move and the P79 rules say you can't move any further if you move before disembarking troops. The P71 rule isn't saying that pivotting does not count as a move, its saying that its ignored if the only move you have made is a pivot (ie pivoting doesn't detract from shooting).
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome