Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: psyker power quick question Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
01-19-13 10:50 PM
Arcane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
The libby would have to pay an extra 50 points to get 3 powers, so the Codex powers are a more economical choice all 'round. I've rarely had opportunity to cast more than 2 a turn, unless you're in a situation where Force Weapon activation is happening a lot.
No, if the Librarian chooses to exchange his powers he chooses 2 powers from the BRB, as he is Psyker Mastery level 2. He then also retains Hammerhand. This gives him a total of 3 powers available to him. You are incorrect.

I mentioned it though that it is indeed better to just keep the codex powers since they are arguably more powerful, not random and are also extremely cheap to buy more of. So unless you really wanted something from the BRB... but in such a case it's really cheap to just take a 55 point Inquisitor if that's up your alley.
01-19-13 10:15 PM
Magpie_Oz The libby would have to pay an extra 50 points to get 3 powers, so the Codex powers are a more economical choice all 'round. I've rarely had opportunity to cast more than 2 a turn, unless you're in a situation where Force Weapon activation is happening a lot.
01-19-13 10:09 PM
Arcane That's very cool that the Libby now gets 3 powers for the price of 2. It's my opinion however that his purchasable GK powers are far too good to pass up over random powers. Inquisitors though are a great cheap way to get more psychic powers from the BRB if you only have 50 or so points to spare in your list.
01-19-13 09:14 PM
Magpie_Oz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcane View Post
I believe IIRC that Cotaez is the only character from C:GK that can change all his powers out for BRB powers. An Inquisitor can also change out his one power and probably both should a Daemonblade make him level 2.
Libbies and Inquisitors.

Interesting idea with the Daemonblade, that would be worth a question to GW I reckon.
01-19-13 05:50 PM
Zion
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcane View Post
I believe IIRC that Cotaez is the only character from C:GK that can change all his powers out for BRB powers. An Inquisitor can also change out his one power and probably both should a Daemonblade make him level 2.
From the Grey Knights FAQ:

Quote:
Psychic Powers
A Grey Knights Librarian may use the psychic disciplines found in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex: Grey Knights. If he does so, generate a number of psychic powers equal to his Mastery Level from the Divination, Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines (in any combination) before armies are deployed. If he does so he may not purchase additional powers. Hammerhand cannot be exchanged in this manner, but is instead retained in addition to the powers purchased or generated by the Librarian.

An Inquisitor with Mastery Level 1 can exchange his psychic power for a single roll on either the Divination, Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines. Coteaz can generate two powers from either the Divination, Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines (in any combination) in place of those listed on his profile. In the case of Coteaz, unlike the Grey Knights Librarian, the Hammerhand power listed on his profile is replaced by one of the powers generated as normal.
01-19-13 05:45 PM
Arcane I believe IIRC that Cotaez is the only character from C:GK that can change all his powers out for BRB powers. An Inquisitor can also change out his one power and probably both should a Daemonblade make him level 2.
01-19-13 12:49 PM
fatmantis thanks mags i thought that was the case...but we just wanted to confirm it anyway cheers dude
01-19-13 11:21 AM
Magpie_Oz You can either use the Codex powers or the rulebook powers, you can't mix them.
If you have Warp Rift you can't have any rulebook powers

You do keep Hammerhand though.
01-19-13 06:51 AM
fatmantis
psyker power quick question

can a great knight librarian change his powers to the BRB powers and use warp rift power that he brought as wargear....? i thought you could only use either or not form both but as you buy it does it change....
cheers guys

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome