Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Psychic Abilities and vehicles Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
12-03-12 04:26 AM
Magpie_Oz The rule for Doom says that it targets a unit, I'd missed the bit in the Codex that specifically states you don't need LOS.

My bad.

Carry on, nothing to see here !
12-03-12 02:19 AM
Ragewind
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!

LOL

I was going off Doom saying "it targets"?
Explain
12-03-12 12:00 AM
Magpie_Oz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
This is very strange as none of the Eldar powers ever needed LOS before. I'm looking through the FAQ which used to expclitey say we did not need LOS and cannot find it.
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!

LOL

I was going off Doom saying "it targets"?
12-02-12 11:47 PM
Ragewind
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
No that 's not right at all.

Check the rules on Page 67

If the power requires a target you must have LOS. The only powers that can use Fire Points are Witchfires, any other Psychic Power that targets a unit cannot use fire points.

Doom would not be able to be done from a vehicle as it "targets a non-vehicle unit within 24""
This is very strange as none of the Eldar powers ever needed LOS before. I'm looking through the FAQ which used to expclitey say we did not need LOS and cannot find it.
12-02-12 10:26 PM
Magpie_Oz
Quote:
Originally Posted by CellteX View Post
Thank you all for the responses.

So do i have this down???

Fire Points only matter for the psychic shooting attacks, otherwise nothing else needs LOS, simply measure from the hull of the tank to affect a unit.
Destructor, Eldritch Storm and Mind war are psychic shooting attacks and need LOS.
Fortune, Guide and Doom can don't need LOS.

So units inside a tank that is stunned can disembark and use Non shooting pshyic attacks

But if he remains inside he can still use non shooting attacks, but can never use the ones that require LOS as it has no fire points.
No that 's not right at all.

Check the rules on Page 67

If the power requires a target you must have LOS. The only powers that can use Fire Points are Witchfires, any other Psychic Power that targets a unit cannot use fire points.

Doom would not be able to be done from a vehicle as it "targets a non-vehicle unit within 24""
12-02-12 09:32 PM
CellteX Thank you all for the responses.

So do i have this down???

Fire Points only matter for the psychic shooting attacks, otherwise nothing else needs LOS, simply measure from the hull of the tank to affect a unit.
Destructor, Eldritch Storm and Mind war are psychic shooting attacks and need LOS.
Fortune, Guide and Doom can don't need LOS.

So units inside a tank that is stunned can disembark and use Non shooting pshyic attacks

But if he remains inside he can still use non shooting attacks, but can never use the ones that require LOS as it has no fire points.
12-02-12 07:26 AM
Sworn Radical
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
1. Eldar codex psychic powers have their own rules covered in the codex, one being not requiring line of sight for some. Ones that require a target still need LOS just like a shooting attack.
Yes, and specificaly in the case of Eldar psychic powers this means that
a.) Destructor, Eldritch Storm and Mind war are psychic shooting attacks and need LOS.
b.) Fortune, Guide and Doom can be used as stated in their codex description (for now).

Quote:
2. Disembarking does not remove the effects of crew shaken or stunned from the models that were embarked. So passengers that are "crew stunned" can not fire in their next shooting phase regardless of disembarking or not. This does however not stop them from using psychic power only PSAs.
Exactly what I wrote.
And if you come to think about it, non-PSA powers would still be used at the beginning of the movement phase, and thus before the disembarktion, so they would be covered under question 1 again.
12-01-12 06:14 PM
Ragewind
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
1. Eldar codex psychic powers have their own rules covered in the codex, one being not requiring line of sight for some. Ones that require a target still need LOS just like a shooting attack.

Standard book psychic power require LOS if the power has a target and cannot be use through a fire point on a vehicle, the exception being a PSA that is treated as an assault weapon and can be.

2. Disembarking does not remove the effects of crew shaken or stunned from the models that were embarked. So passengers that are "crew stunned" can not fire in their next shooting phase regardless of disembarking or not. This does however not stop them from using psychic power only PSAs.
Clever Girl.jpg

I'm so used to the Eldar powers not needing LOS i had to go recheck the whole thing page 67 is quite clear after all, here have some Rep.
12-01-12 06:02 PM
Azrell 1. Eldar codex psychic powers have their own rules covered in the codex, one being not requiring line of sight for some. Ones that require a target still need LOS just like a shooting attack.

Standard book psychic power require LOS if the power has a target and cannot be use through a fire point on a vehicle, the exception being a PSA that is treated as an assault weapon and can be.

2. Disembarking does not remove the effects of crew shaken or stunned from the models that were embarked. So passengers that are "crew stunned" can not fire in their next shooting phase regardless of disembarking or not. This does however not stop them from using psychic power only PSAs.
12-01-12 04:56 PM
Ragewind Fire Points only matter for the psychic shooting attacks, otherwise nothing else needs LOS, simply measure from the hull of the tank to affect a unit.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome