Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Multiple Mindshackle Scarabs question Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
03-04-12 10:15 PM
Tim/Steve The model chosen by MSS is random, and only those in base contact are effected... so you either hide the 'effective' models from base contact with the lords/overlords (crypteks don't have MSS), mob chaff into base contact as well to minimise the chance of MSS targeting your good model or just stay at range and shoot the hell out of the enemy.

I had my D-lord charged by typhus and 3 plaguemarines... I got lucky and my 1in4 picked Typhus, so I smashed the enemy. Had my MSS picked out one of the others or if he had passed his Ld then I would have been utterly trounced (it was not a combat I wanted to fight... but I didn't consolidate far enough from a prior combat). Typhus alone would have been a much lesser threat then Typhus +3 random nothings.
03-04-12 09:44 PM
reasnd I've recently played aganist a Necron army with Mind shackle scarabs and have to admit that for 15 pts, they are nasty.
My big question is how do you counter them?
A unit of Genstealers with broodlord was riped apart by a unit of 20 warriors with a MSS Cryptek. Mostly because the Broodlord turned on its mates. Is there a way to counter the leadership test? or do I have to avoid runing anything but rank and file? Personally I can't play a game where I hold anything back. By this I mean tactically moving and placing a model to make sure they can't get into base to base contact with a MSS equiped Cryptek.
03-04-12 07:36 PM
Tim/Steve
Quote:
Instead of attacking normally, he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit when it is his turn to attack
I take 5 MSS tests, fail 3 and then when it is my time to attack I do D3 hits on my unit.
I've followed every rule word for word and not done multiple sets of D3 hits on my unit. You can fail many tests and the result is that "he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit when it is his turn to attack". Nothing says that multiple fails cause you to do multiple sets of hits, so fulfilling the requesits for 1 fail will fulfill them all.
03-04-12 03:03 PM
the cabbage You pay five times for MSS you should get the benefits five times.

Unless you can show differently. Treat each MSS individually and stack the results. May be OP against IC or MC but then again I find power fists to be OP against my Grey Hunters.
03-04-12 12:44 PM
Tim/Steve The question is whether or not multiple scarabs cause multiple effects, not if multiple effects stack (which they obviously would).

My view is that the MSS makes you take the test, and that you can be made to take multiple tests each turn... but that once you've failed, you've failed and that the effects only happen once.
03-04-12 08:45 AM
LukeValantine Well in that case the whole thing is obvious as their is no cap on hits. Especially when its not stacking, but being generated at the same time by separate pieces of wargear. If I shoot a random 1D3 weapon from say a orc unit is it impossible to hit more then once as the hits are generate at the same time?
03-04-12 08:40 AM
Tim/Steve Um, the D3 attacks has nothing at all to do with the stat cap. The 2 are completely seperate.
For a start the D3 'attacks' are nothing of the sort... its D3 hits.
03-03-12 09:35 PM
LukeValantine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
Sorry perhaps I should've been clearer, your explanation is what i was referring too. From a FAQ IIRC.

You should easily consider these D3 attacks "bonus attacks" since they do not modify the model's base characteristic.
Got to agree their is no reason what so ever to interpret the D3 as not being bonus attacks, as they are not a bonus from double wielding or any regular attack situation. In fact the whole D3 part kinda hints that it is a random bonus attack (Hence more akin to a daemon weapon)
03-03-12 08:59 PM
Ragewind
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
attacks still cap at 10. ONLY exception is AV which caps at 14.
This is made more complicated by bpnus attacks not counting (eg 2CCW and charge) or random attacks (eg 2D6) which can reach their own maximums... its essentially just never an issue since I can't think of a way to reach 11A on profile.
Sorry perhaps I should've been clearer, your explanation is what i was referring too. From a FAQ IIRC.

You should easily consider these D3 attacks "bonus attacks" since they do not modify the model's base characteristic.
03-02-12 07:19 AM
Tim/Steve attacks still cap at 10. ONLY exception is AV which caps at 14.
This is made more complicated by bpnus attacks not counting (eg 2CCW and charge) or random attacks (eg 2D6) which can reach their own maximums... its essentially just never an issue since I can't think of a way to reach 11A on profile.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome