Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - Reply to Topic
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Thread: Chaos Rhino. Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-19-08 07:20 AM
Blood God As far as im concerned......that's just clever
05-16-08 10:10 AM
Lord Reevan Galahd I only said that as I was going to ask a similar question on this but thught it pointless... I get your point though..... I'll delete that now
05-16-08 02:54 AM
Galahad Reevan, please do not go into other threads and ask people to look at your thread, it's basically spam.

Unless it explicitly says otherwise (like in the SM codex), if a transport is offered you may take it regardless of the unit's size. However, if the unit is too big to fit inside you may not ride inside it unl;ess you have the ability to break up the unit (like Combat Squads)

Dark and Blood Angels can take a Razorback with a 10 man squad, they just can't ride inside it unless they split the squad first.

Large CSM squads may have a rhino, but they cannot ride in it until enough of their unit has been killed off to allow them to fit inside (since chaos does not have a combat squad option)
05-15-08 10:17 PM
don_mondo BTW, this is now covered in the brand new Chaos FAQ, the answer is yes, the 20 man squad can take a rhino.
05-14-08 02:23 AM
Bishop120 Yep.. dedicated transports may only be used to transport their owning unit. The preliminary 5th edition rulebook removes this little problem but thats only if they dont change that little bit which I think they wont as not to many people are purchasing transports due to that little rule.

There are lots of occasions when a unit is to big for its dedicated transport (chaos, tau FW with drones, Inquisitors with to many henchmen...) so theres no biggie here. And there is no requirement to deploy the tank anywhere near its squad. I was talking with someone else here on the forums about IG and their mobility doctrine where everything has to take a Chimera to ride in. A neato idea would be to deploy all the Chimeras on one side of your deployment zone and the Guard on the other side and use the ol'e hammer and anvil tactic.. use the Chimera to push the enemy into your IG gunlines and chew them apart piecemeal.
05-14-08 01:24 AM
Revelations
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Orc View Post
I don't think this is right, in fact I think its dead wrong. A transport must be taken as a transport for a unit and can only transport that unit, is my understanding.

:concerned cyclops:
Erk! Pg 62 MRB, totally my bad, you're right.
05-13-08 11:36 PM
Red Orc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revelations View Post
... the transport may carry any troops it wants to. It doesn't matter if it's the owning unit or not...
I don't think this is right, in fact I think its dead wrong. A transport must be taken as a transport for a unit and can only transport that unit, is my understanding.

:concerned cyclops:
05-13-08 11:02 PM
Revelations
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Reevan View Post
thought so thanks my good man... they can be deployed anywhere but even if the unit they were deployed with is destroyed they cannot transport another squad no?
Er... if I think you're asking what I think your asking, the transport may carry any troops it wants to. It doesn't matter if it's the owning unit or not.

Here are the only two benefits of dedicated transports...

1. The owning unit may begin deployed within the transport.
2. The transport does not take up a FoC spot.
05-13-08 10:56 PM
Lord Reevan thought so thanks my good man... they can be deployed anywhere but even if the unit they were deployed with is destroyed they cannot transport another squad no?
05-13-08 10:53 PM
Revelations
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Reevan View Post
There is nothing wrong with what he did, tactically or fluff wise but what i like to know is can a dedicated transprt have to be in unit coherency any time during the game? during deployment, movement, anything??
Negative on the Coherency good buddy. The only thing is that a dedicated transport is deployed at the same time the unit is, nothing more. So if you really wanted to, you could deploy the vehicle on the other side of the table. (Hmm... new mission idea!)
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome