New confused player... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
New Member Introductions The place for new members to introduce themselves, ask questions and be welcomed.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-01-17, 10:37 PM Thread Starter

Default New confused player...

Ok...trying to wrap my head around how it all works. I want to give 40K a try. Never played before. Coming from Kings of War I'm not totally new to tabletop games...but I am a total newb to GW games and sci-fi.

Anyways...as I'm looking at the various armies...I see a lot of stuff that's appealing aesthetically. I haven't gotten into the fluff yet so that might help whittle things down. But what confusing me is the fact that there's like 15 thousand variations of Space Marines. Are there actual play differences between them all or is it mostly a fluff and visual difference? I assume any that have their own codex will be vastly different but what about all the chapters and other variations that don't have their own codex? I probably need to read a lot more (any suggestions greatly appreciated) before choosing but right now....I'm just completely confused. Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-01-17, 10:49 PM

Loki1416's Flag is: USA

Chapters that have a codex will have chapter specific traits. For example: Grey Knights are Space Marines, but have different traits/abilities than Ultra Marines. Far as fluff goes, each has their own and all comes down to what you like/don't like. The same goes for look. This also leaves you open to create your OWN chapter should you choose to go that route.