Eldar Harlequins color schemes - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-11, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
eae

Default Eldar Harlequins color schemes

Hi everyone. :)

I've recently started painting my DE army. It happened so that I got some Harlequins for Christmas, and now I'm thinking about how to paint them. I'm relatively new to painting but I try to do it right with as much quality as possible, trying every technique mentioned in the guides, and Harlequins are the very fine-detailed unit which would really require the best of my efforts to paint properly.

Unfortunately, there's not much information on the Web about the "approved" color schemes for this unit, all the more the Dark Eldar one. Basically, it's not even mentioned anywhere in the text and the only canonical picture of them is the 'eavy Metal harlequins (and it looks like there's only like 6-10 of 'eavy Metal Harlequins painted in the whole world).

So, here are my questions:

1. Do DE harlequins' colors differ in any way from their Eldar version? It seems that the troupe of harlequins travels from here to there and might occasionally fight on the side of Eldar or Dark Eldar alike, so my guess is no, the color scheme does not differ.

2. Should Harlequins' colors be similar to the main colors of their army? Again, as Harlequins are an external troupe that joins the ranks of some Eldar group for a limited amount of time, my guess is no. Or maybe they use their bands and fillets to show their current affiliation? That's a wild guess and I need an expert's opinion on this matter.