Why should I fully assemble a model before painting? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 04:02 PM Thread Starter

ArchangelPaladin's Flag is: USA

Default Why should I fully assemble a model before painting?

So I’m still really new to the whole hobby and I assumed that it was best to only do partial model assembly before painting in such a way that overlapping parts don’t prevent me from being able to paint all the nooks of the model. But all of the painting guilds that I’ve read including the GW “How to paint…” book say to assemble the whole model first and then start painting. This seams wrong to me as doing so would leave some visibly unpainted areas all because by assembling the model your preventing your own access to those areas. So why do these guilds tell me to assemble first and then paint?

Specifically, I’m working on a box of sm sniper scouts right now, and If I was to fully assemble them their legs would get in the way of getting some parts of their inside clocks, or gluing their heads in place would prevent me from painting the inside of their collars or the back side of their necks and heads. And then putting their weapons in place would also keep me from getting to some small areas around their chest.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 04:11 PM

admiraldick's Flag is: United Kingdom

i would say that it is very bad advice to completely construct the model before painting it.

if you build the model completely before painting it, it will be harder to paint. if you construct the model partially and then paint it, before completing the model, it will be a lot easier to paint, but you might find that a lack of experience makes the task feel rather more enormous than it is.