First time painting models, looking for opinions - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-17-18, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Monomo's Flag is: Poland

As I said in my introduction topic I am completely new to painting models so I started with Citadel learning kit. I've just finished painting my first ultramarine with paints and brush from said set. On top I put satine coat getting beautiful visualisation of why I should never use that damn thing again. If you can see anything under the SHINE I'd really appreciate your tips before I move on to next boys. Is paint thin enough? I think I used too much wash and should find smaller brush for details.
I should note I am aiming for hobby/display quality.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180217_182420_1518901947341.jpg (392.7 KB, 109 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180217_182557_1518901970258.jpg (239.3 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180217_182711_1518901978636.jpg (313.3 KB, 11 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-18-18, 08:00 PM

The coat of blue on the two bottom ultramarines is just right it seems. It looks smooth and even and its not obscuring the models detail, so it seems you thinned the paint just right. As far as using that satin varnish, you should know that spray can varnish can be very temperamental depending on certain factors like room temperature, humdity or overall due point. Especially if using GW old purity seal. I'd recommend testors dullcoate since that one tends to work better despite high temp/ humidity.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-18-18, 11:19 PM Thread Starter
Monomo's Flag is: Poland

Thanks, I never would thought a climate can play a role in it :O