BaC Contemptor Dread Extra Armour - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-13-16, 01:44 PM Thread Starter

Default BaC Contemptor Dread Extra Armour

Hi All,

I'm wanting to convert my BaC contemptor dread for my Iron warriors army (40k).... I started with the idea of adding some etched brass, which I have done to the shoulders, but it doesnt look very good on the chest piece. I wondered how it would look with more armour plating on the front, but am unsure how to actually go about adding the extra armour.

My first thought was green stuff over the front, but not sure how practical this would be to do - I'm no scultping expert and dont want to waste a load of GS and ruin a model which Ive managed to repose to great effect. Would the extra armour be better done with plasticard, and if so, how would it be done? Single sheet wrapped round? Lots of small sheets? A skim of green stuff with plasticard stuck over the top?

I sort of imagine the armour being a bit like the newer Mk SM armour with a high gorget, but with pipes etc on it to be a bit similar to the FW IW contemptor.

Any help, inspiration, ideas or other input greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-13-16, 03:02 PM
Closet Dictator

Old Man78's Flag is: Ireland

Try using card first, like cereal packet or toilet roll core, it is easily bendable and can me made quite rigid with watered down pva glue. You can tack that on to the model without ruining it. Once you've got the fit right, then I would go for a master piece made from plasti card. You could also use a load chain hanging off his chest to simulate extra armour, kind of like chain mail, him being an iron warrior an evil despot

post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-18-16, 08:57 PM
Dazed and confused.

Khorne's Fist's Flag is: Ireland