WH40K Newbie - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-25-15, 09:13 AM Thread Starter

Default WH40K Newbie

Hi everyone! I'm new to Warhammer, but not so new to modelling stuff. A friend of mine recently got me into Warhammer 40K, and I'm slowly building my Harlequin army. This past weekend I painted the Solitaire in a Joker-themed color scheme. Any critiques or tips are welcome. This is kinda sorta my first time to paint something this small and delicate.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-25-15, 03:39 PM

SwedeMarine's Flag is: Sweden

Welcome to the boards and congratulations on your first model being painted .

Im going to give a few pieces of advice and im going to base them off the assumption that you base coated this mini with black am I right?

If this is the case the first suggestion i would have for you is to switch to white primer. This is for several reasons. 1st, A white basecoat is a bit more forgiving in terms of painting onto. black works well for darker colors but you need many successive layers of paint to get good coverage on a black basecoat (yellow being a color that comes right to mind). 2nd a white basecoat is a good way to get in some practice with shading as instead of doing a base coat you can use a wash to get an initial color down which will then also help in providing the model with shading. 3rd Black as a primer is really only useful when painting models that are mostly dark or metal. (necrons and chaos are prime examples of this). If you have areas that you want to give a darker shade to then id recommend priming white and then base coating that particular piece black.