Working with Resin - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-25-14, 03:59 AM Thread Starter

Worldkiller's Flag is: USA

Default Working with Resin

So my gf got me a forge world product for our anniversary, and I've never worked with resin before. Can anyone tell me what glue I should use? And does the GW paint work on these? What's the best way to cut them from the sprue?

Finished: Too Much Love Will Kill You (working title), an original fiction novel. Working on: Second draft of Too Much Love, and the first draft of A Winter's Tale (working title).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-25-14, 04:08 AM
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite

Jacobite's Flag is: New Zealand

First up superglue is the glue to use. Pin and superglue. Prep wise put the minis in a bath of simple green overnight to clear off the mold release agent from them otherwise the paint will have a devil of time sticking to the minis. Let them soak in Simple Green and then scrub them with a toothbrush and slightly warm soapy water. You can just do it with just the water but I found on some Terminators I bought from them that just that isn't enough sometimes, hence the Simple Green. To cut them from the sprue just use a normal hobby knife or clippers. If you are going to file any of it try not to breath the dust in, it's nasty. Other than that just base coat as normal and away you go.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-25-14, 04:15 AM Thread Starter

What is simple green and where do I find it? Also, is a lack of instructions normal?

Finished: Too Much Love Will Kill You (working title), an original fiction novel. Working on: Second draft of Too Much Love, and the first draft of A Winter's Tale (working title).

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-25-14, 04:29 AM
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite