can i put two models on one base. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Modelling and Painting Discuss or display anything and everything regarding Terrain, Modelling and Painting here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 02:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dragonkingofthestars's Avatar
dragonkingofthestars's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bandon Oregon
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 7
Default can i put two models on one base.

As i mentioned in a earlier here, I'm using imperial guard as proxy for scout space marines, (Sniper rifles are FINALLY incoming) and I plan to use a Heavy weapon set for the scouts, well heavy weapons, (and devastators as well, but beside the points)

Imperial guard, clearly have 2 man weapon teams, space marines, do not, But I think I might want to create a weapon team to help accent the 'Joint Battle group' feel, but to do so, I would have to put two models (one sniper rifle guy and the other heavy weapon) on one heavy weapon team base.

Can I legally do this?

note: if you see me giving tactical advice: just assume i have a internet tab open to 1d4 chan and I'm summarizing off of that.

Avatar done by Bulhakov
dragonkingofthestars is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 02:17 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

There isn't any "legal" reason you can't do it.

It will have several game play draw backs however. The base will be bigger so you won't fit through terrain as easy and you will be a bigger target.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 02:21 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dragonkingofthestars's Avatar
dragonkingofthestars's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bandon Oregon
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 7
Default

I don't care.

I might (Still unsure have to test fit to see how it looks) want to just use a heavy weapon platoon in a space marine army with out being call a cheeky git. Might even pull it off with devastators depending.

note: if you see me giving tactical advice: just assume i have a internet tab open to 1d4 chan and I'm summarizing off of that.

Avatar done by Bulhakov
dragonkingofthestars is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 03:23 AM
For Da Boss
 
dirty-dog-'s Avatar
dirty-dog-'s Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: new zealand, the land of the long white cloud
Posts: 2,156
Reputation: 4
Default

i think you will find that people will have a problem with a large model on a smaller base, but not a smaller model on a larger base.

omgitsduane's # 1 Fan

Russian Winter Guard Thread


dirty-dog- is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
davespil's Avatar
davespil's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stuck in texas
Posts: 853
Reputation: 2
Default

No, I don't believe that you can.

The IG team is treated as one model. It has a stat line that incorporates both troops. It has 2 wounds and 2 attacks. If you put two Space Marines on one base then they are treated as one model. And since there is no model that has the profile of a heavy weapons team with 2 wounds and 2+ attacks all you did is make it a bigger and cooler looking Sniper OR Heavy weapon guy. Not both.

Have guns, will travel...
davespil is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 04:52 AM
For Da Boss
 
dirty-dog-'s Avatar
dirty-dog-'s Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: new zealand, the land of the long white cloud
Posts: 2,156
Reputation: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davespil View Post
No, I don't believe that you can.

The IG team is treated as one model. It has a stat line that incorporates both troops. It has 2 wounds and 2 attacks. If you put two Space Marines on one base then they are treated as one model. And since there is no model that has the profile of a heavy weapons team with 2 wounds and 2+ attacks all you did is make it a bigger and cooler looking Sniper OR Heavy weapon guy. Not both.
Hes talking about using an imperial guard team to counts as a scout heavybolter.

omgitsduane's # 1 Fan

Russian Winter Guard Thread


dirty-dog- is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Dakingofchaos's Avatar
Dakingofchaos's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Coventry
Posts: 802
Reputation: 6
Default

A model on a base is a model on a base - if it takes two to lift a heavy bolter then so be it.

'If you fail to prepare then you'd better prepare to fail'
Dakingofchaos is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-13, 11:54 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakingofchaos View Post
A model on a base is a model on a base - if it takes two to lift a heavy bolter then so be it.
I agree, I had an idea similar to this a little while ago for a female Inquisitor who had some "ruff" muscle to carry her weapons for her on the one base.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-15-13, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Dakingofchaos's Avatar
Dakingofchaos's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Coventry
Posts: 802
Reputation: 6
Default

Exactly - I think a small child should suffice to hold an inquisitors plasma pistol.

'If you fail to prepare then you'd better prepare to fail'
Dakingofchaos is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-15-13, 11:05 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakingofchaos View Post
Exactly - I think a small child should suffice to hold an inquisitors plasma pistol.
I was thinking more along the lines of a "Beefcake" , Marbo maybe ?
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Hobby > Modelling and Painting

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome