Interesting theory... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-14, 09:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 174
Reputation: 1
Default Interesting theory...

This probably isn't the correct place, but I figured it would get some views and hopefully responses..

But since this forum is about IG lists, technically it is in the right place. Depending on your view of things lol..

So..IF I am reading the new 7th ed rules correctly and the new Imperial Guard (I refuse to call it Astra Millitarium...screw you GW just because you couldn't trademark IG or Imperial Guard lol)...

Has anyone given any thought to a IG list that makes heavy use of summoning...DEAMONS to throw into your opponents face? I mean, if they are summoned, technically they would not be considered "Come the Apocalypse"..

I think it would be interesting to see how something like this would play out...
shadoestar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-14, 10:25 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

They still count as being from the demon codex so CtA rules would be in effect. It is also a tough power to survive casting if your psykers do not have the Daemon USR.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-14-14, 10:57 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

I'll do you one better: Grey Knights summoning Daemons. I know, I know, it's specifically disallowed. What my opponent did was allied in Codex: Inquisition Inquisitors and sanctioned psykers who can take Malefic powers (unlike Grey Knight inquisitors), then used the massive Warp Charge pool he had from all his Grey Knights to pump out daemons. Once the first wave of Daemons are out, it doesn't matter that your Sanctioned Psykers perilsed and probably died summoning them: after all, summoned Tzeentchi daemons can roll on the Malefic daemonology table themselves.

Fortunately, it backfired on my opponent when he failed to summon a Greater Daemon with 8 dice, and that psyker died. He still managed to get out 3 Bloodcrushers, though. In a Grey Knights army.

I imagine you could make it work pretty easily with Guard by spamming Primaris Psykers and Wyrdvane Psykers. Sure, they'd die like flies as you summon things in, but there's something grimly evocative about psykers of a corrupted Guard or PDF regiment killing themselves to bring in their otherworldly masters against their foes. The "Come the Apocalypse" would be... inconvenient from a gaming standpoint, but could be easily explained by the traitor Guard worshiping their newly manifested gods.

Hmm. Damn, now I have to take my traitor guard and mutants models and play a game like this, don't I.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-20-14, 05:01 AM
Member
 
Miester_Zef's Avatar
Miester_Zef's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1
Default

I run a traitor guard theme army. Specifically Slaanesh. I veiw it as since you didn't take daemons as an Ally but are part of a spell effect; they don't not fall under the 'ally' table but are in fact a part of your psyker. I think they are great. sacrifice a 50-75 point unit to summon a 100+ unit win/win even if you fail it was worth the risk.

-In case i screwed up my first attempt to reply-

Since the summoned daemons are part of a spell effect and not taken as an 'ally'; they do not fall under the ally table.

That is how i view it.

Last edited by Dave T Hobbit; 07-21-14 at 07:10 PM.
Miester_Zef is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Army Lists > Imperial Guard Army Lists

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome