SM Chapter Tactics Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-09-15, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Tyriks's Avatar
Tyriks's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 326
Reputation: 6
Default SM Chapter Tactics Question

Hello, everyone! I am trying to get back into 40k after not playing for 10(ish) years, so I have a question about the SM chapter tactics. Those either weren't around when I played before, or they were house ruled out by the guys I played with, so I'm a little uncertain about them.

My main question is this: do units that have the rule Chapter Tactics, with nothing in parenthesis, just count for whatever chapter their formation is? I.e. if I play Iron Hands (who don't have any units that specifically say Chapter Tactics (Iron Hands)), would my Tactical Squad or Scouts or whatever benefit from their Chapter Tactics? Or would no one? It would seem like they should, but I'd rather make sure before buying and painting an entire army.

Thanks for any help!
Tyriks is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-09-15, 07:53 PM
MidnightSun's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83

Yep - you pick a detachment and formation, you pick a set of Chapter Tactics (in your case, Iron Hands) and you can bring anything that doesn't have Chapter Tactics (not-Iron Hands, i.e. Crusader Squads or Vulkan He'stan).

In broad terms, you pretty much pick a Chapter Tactic and every non-vehicle unit in your army gets that Chapter Tactic (there are some exceptions but let's not muddy the waters).

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-09-15, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Tyriks's Avatar
Tyriks's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 326
Reputation: 6

Awesome, thanks for the help!
Tyriks is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion > Houserules and Homebrews

chapter tactics

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome