Ultimate Unit Game: Retro Edition #3 - All Rounder - Page 16 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Heresy Online Competitions The place to go to pit your skills against your fellow heretics for awards and bragging rights. Compete in sponsored competitions for fabulous prizes!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #151 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 02:10 AM
Member
Nero Genesis's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Posts: 32
Reputation: 2
Default

Maybe, I don't know anything about the units so I can't say. I'm just curious as I know I probably won't kill the orks.

Nero Genesis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
The Meddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 310
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
I wouldn't want to presume anything, but this looks like it's headed to an Orky Sivul Waaagh!

Good luck Meddler, and hard luck Clown. In the battle of the big ugly green dude vs 30 little ugly green dudes, it's revealed that quantity has a quality all of it's own.
Thanks Here's to hoping I break the greenskin curse


The Meddler is offline  
post #153 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
returnoftheclown's Avatar
returnoftheclown's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 298
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
Good luck Meddler, and hard luck Clown. In the battle of the big ugly green dude vs 30 little ugly green dudes, it's revealed that quantity has a quality all of it's own.
Good game Midnight, Well done! Not much you can do against that many Orks

“Insane? You dare to claim that we are insane? I find this very amusing. You see, there is no such thing as sanity. Why? Because the nature of sanity depends on the context the term is used. A man living in squalor may call the rich man insane for wasting food, while the rich man in return may call the poor insane for living off his waste. You slaughter thousands and squander the resources of planets on foolish incursions to please a corpse and his corrupted followers. And you have the nerve to call me insane? Oh poor misguided individual, pray to whatever deity you serve and hope he is merciful, for those who find themselves trapped in the spiders web have little else they can do”

Lord Nerthro of the ‘Heralds of Absurdity’ to what remained of an Imperial scouting party
returnoftheclown is offline  
 
post #154 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 11:24 AM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nero Genesis View Post
Would it be possible to see my results laid out turn by turn. I'm surprised I dealt so little damage and took so much. Also if he overheated how did he do a wound?

I'm just trying to make sure everything got accounted for, like the leadership check at -2 for when he lost close combat.
Quote:
- Pre-turn preparations: Jokearo rolls a 1 (+1 modifier). Improved Gun Sights.
- Tau shooting: Plasma Rifle and Missile Pod, three hits, two wounds allocated to Plasma Gun Acolyte and Carapace Storm Bolter Acolyte.
- Warband shooting: (Neuroweb System Jammers), Storm Bolter shooting (6 hits, 3 wounds, no failed armour saves - one Gets Hot wound), Plasma Gun shooting (4 hits, 4 wounds, one failed invulnerable save), Jokearo Lascannons (0 hits).
- Close Combat: Tau (2 hits, 1 wound, no failed armour saves), Warband (8 hits, 2 wounds, no failed armour saves)

- Tau shooting: Plasma Rifle and Missile Pod, three hits, 1 wound allocated to Storm Shield Acolyte, failed invulnerable save.
- Warband shooting: *Neuroweb System Jammers* Storm Bolters (3 hits, 2 wounds, no failed armour saves), Plasma Guns (3 hits, 2 wounds, 2 unsavable wounds), Jokearo Lascannons (1 hit, 1 wound, 1 unsavable wound).
- Close Combat: Tau (3 hits, 2 wounds, Jokearo failed armour save, Plasma Gun failed armour save), Warband (5 hits, 1 wound, no failed armour saves)
MORALE CHECK (Warband): 4 - passed (with -4 modifier).

- Tau shooting: Plasma Rifle and Missile Pod (4 hits, 4 wounds, 4 unsavable wounds - Jokearo, 2x Carapace Storm Bolter Acolytes, Plasma Gun)
- Warband shooting: *Neuroweb System Jammers* Storm Bolters (4 hits, 1 wound, no failed armour saves), Jokearo Lascannon (0 hits), Plasma Gun (1 hit, 1 wound, 1 unsavable wound, Gets Hot wound).

Tau Commander eliminated. Warband survivors - Flak armour Storm Bolter Acolyte.
Hard luck mate, it was damn close.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Routine View Post
If there were four separate weapons for the purposes of weapons destroyed, it would have four separate weapons listed under "Wargear". There are not, so it does not.

Just so I'm not holding out false hope here Spanner, what's your official ruling on this?
It would appear, upon reading the BRB section on P.84 more closely, that the "arm" is not a weapon specifically. Instead, we have two parts: the Dreadnought Close Combat Weapon (Blood Talon), and the Heavy Flamer. From this it would then seem that one OR the other would be destroyed, and not both. That said, I played with the other ruling all the way through 5th edition (hasn't really been an issue in 6th as I don't see/use many walkers). Also, as routine mentioned, the wargear lists the arm as including both parts.

Final Judgement: I will re-roll the round, but I will use the ruling that they are treated separately.

You think emailing GW could get us a clear answer?

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #155 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 01:07 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spanner94ezekiel View Post
You think emailing GW could get us a clear answer?
No, the rule has changed.

5th Ed
"If the walker suffers a weapon destroyed result
and the player chooses the close combat weapon,
the walker loses the bonuses conferred by the
Dreadnought close combat weapon (and any
other weapon built into the same arm)." Page 73

6th Ed
"If one of its additional Melee weapons is destroyed, one bonus Attack is lost. If the destroyed weapon is a Dreadnought close combat weapon,
the Walker loses the bonuses conferred by that Dreadnought
close combat weapon" Page 84
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #156 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default

Which doesnt actually say whether or not built in weapons are destroyed as well, Magpie.

However, on closer inspection today, I noticed that the "Weapon Destroyed" result description on the Vehicle Damage Table DOES specify, and does indeed say that Built-In Weapons count as separate Weapons to be destroyed.

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!
Routine is offline  
post #157 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default

Btw Spanner, Is this honesty of mine going to bite me in the ass? If so, someone will need to lend me a Nerf-Bat so I can smack myself upside the head

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!

Last edited by Routine; 07-09-13 at 01:25 PM.
Routine is offline  
post #158 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 01:32 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Routine View Post
Which doesnt actually say whether or not built in weapons are destroyed as well, Magpie.
That's the funny thing with rules; you go off what they do say, not what they don't say.

It's changed from 5th Ed, there is no mention of the arm and all its weapons being destroyed along with the DCCW anymore.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #159 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-09-13, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Well fair enough then. The round will be re-rolled regardless as I treated the Weapon Destroyed result as destroying the arm, whilst failing to notice the ruling on Blood Talons gaining additional attacks. I'll get that up for you ASAP.

EDIT:

Angel of Blood vs routine

The Dreadnought slays five Guardsmen. In return the Guardsmen fire their meltas, with one hitting, penetrating, and causing the Dreadnought to explode.

routine moves on.


So that finished in quite an anti-climax.

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.


Last edited by spanner94ezekiel; 07-09-13 at 01:51 PM.
spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #160 of 170 (permalink) Old 07-10-13, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Ohh. A reversal! That kinda sucks. Looking at the battles this round, I'm glad my Scorpions died early on. Being caught in an explosion is probably less painful than some of the other ways units are dropping.

Interesting about the built-in weapons too. Funny how we still are finding rule changes a year later. But these fiddly little bits also don't come up too often for many of us. So, they can be easy to overlook.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."

Last edited by Archon Dan; 07-10-13 at 09:07 AM.
Archon Dan is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Wargaming News, New Releases and Information > Heresy Online Competitions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome