Regarding O(&G) armies - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General Warhammer This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer Fantasy.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-24-09, 10:55 AM Thread Starter

Default Regarding O(&G) armies

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this section of the forum, so I'd like to say hi and wish everyone an early merry christmas

I'm looking at starting WHFB, and the O&G are just too awesome to take my eyes off of. I'm thinking however that I like orcs very much more than goblins, so my first question would be: is it possible to make a decent O&G list that revolves around minimal use of goblins? I love the larger models like black orcs, and I would also be fine with stuff like goblin chariots and cavalry (again, larger models). Would it work out play-wise though, I'm not looking for a super duper army but it would be nice to have one that doesn't get totally creamed by everyone and their plumber.

My second question regards the new O&G army book that is supposedly (?) coming soon, like some time in 2010. Do you think this is a correct time estimate, and what kind of changes do you expect in that army book? More units, or just buffing the current ones?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-24-09, 11:24 AM

maddermax's Flag is: Australia

you certainly can avoid taking large goblin units, though cutting them completely out does take out some useful options. Light cavalry, war machines and cheap mages are what you really need goblins for. beyond that, you can avoid them.

If a new book is coming, it's most likely going to be early 2011, more than 2010, to fit in with the apparent arrival of the 8th edition of the rules. This is all highly hypothetical at this point though...

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.