Help a newbie - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General Warhammer This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer Fantasy.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-19-09, 07:22 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NagashKhemmler's Avatar
NagashKhemmler's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 630
Reputation: 1
Default Help a newbie

Didn't see one of these in the warhammer section, so I'm starting one, basically it's an area where people can ask newbie questions and have them answered by myself or one of the other veterans.

The special thing about this thread is no question is too small/simple to be answered, so if you have one throw it in and I'll do my best to give you a quick answer .

Thanks,
NK
NagashKhemmler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-19-09, 11:57 AM
Eastern Potent
 
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Avatar
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Reputation: 1
Default

Good idea NK! +rep from me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
I'll update from Prisoner Cell Block Nerd when they extradite me.
Lord Sven Kittyclaw is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-19-09, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Col. Schafer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: WA.
Posts: 2,100
Reputation: 1
Default

What hapened to knights of the white wolf?

(PS: Boo! Bet you werent expecting me!)

"A true king is never alone, his will is equal to the will of all of his followers."
-Alexander the Great, kind of
Col. Schafer is offline  
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 03:47 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NagashKhemmler's Avatar
NagashKhemmler's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 630
Reputation: 1
Default

I think one of their sub groups the grey knights were exiled or something....I was more thinking along the lines of tactics and army builds though :D
NagashKhemmler is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
Ascendant Valor's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Posts: 320
Reputation: 1
Default

Here's one that's been bugging me about using Mark of Khorne in my Warriors of Chaos army...

Here's the situation:

Some Chaos Knights with Mark of Khorne has a unit of Warhounds in front of it.
-The Warhounds wish to charge a unit. They succeed.
-Can the Chaos Knights then charge the same unit or another unit, since the warhounds are out of the way?


This question has been bugging me, since I'm not familiar with screening units. Thanks for the help, NK and anyone else!

"In the eyes of the Elves of Ulthuan there exists no fear, only grim determination.

Until one has witnessed them in combat, one cannot comprehend the power that they possess."
Ascendant Valor is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 05:39 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NagashKhemmler's Avatar
NagashKhemmler's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 630
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascendant Valor View Post
Here's one that's been bugging me about using Mark of Khorne in my Warriors of Chaos army...

Here's the situation:

Some Chaos Knights with Mark of Khorne has a unit of Warhounds in front of it.
-The Warhounds wish to charge a unit. They succeed.
-Can the Chaos Knights then charge the same unit or another unit, since the warhounds are out of the way?


This question has been bugging me, since I'm not familiar with screening units. Thanks for the help, NK and anyone else!
If the line of sight of the Chaos Knights is completely blocked then they will not be able to charge this turn, as the movement of chargers, occurs after the compulsory movement phase (so when it is their turn to declare a charge, their LOS is blocked).

HOWEVER, if the line of sight of the Chaos Knights is partially blocked and the warhounds movement would cause them to no longer obscure the charge path of the knights, then the knights must charge.

If the warhounds don't charge, then the knights won't be able to either, as their movement is blocked.

In essence, this means that screening frenzied units works by partially obscuring their vision so they have LOS, but not line of movement, stopping a premature charge.

I hope that clears it up!
NagashKhemmler is offline  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Dafistofmork's Avatar
Dafistofmork's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 992
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascendant Valor View Post
Here's one that's been bugging me about using Mark of Khorne in my Warriors of Chaos army...

Here's the situation:

Some Chaos Knights with Mark of Khorne has a unit of Warhounds in front of it.
-The Warhounds wish to charge a unit. They succeed.
-Can the Chaos Knights then charge the same unit or another unit, since the warhounds are out of the way?


This question has been bugging me, since I'm not familiar with screening units. Thanks for the help, NK and anyone else!
no. you move chargers after all charges have been declared, so you would declare the warhounds charge, then the knights charge, then move the warhounds then the knights. since the knights can not see the enemy untill the warhounds have moved then they can not declare a charge.

humm, true. This is yet again proof the Orks are smarter the Elves.-Micklez
Dafistofmork is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NagashKhemmler's Avatar
NagashKhemmler's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 630
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafistofmork View Post
no. you move chargers after all charges have been declared, so you would declare the warhounds charge, then the knights charge, then move the warhounds then the knights. since the knights can not see the enemy untill the warhounds have moved then they can not declare a charge.
I think you misunderstood me. I stated, that in the case of completely obscured line of sight, the knights cannot charge. In the instance of partial line of sight, they can charge if the hounds also charge. I did state, that with completely obscured line of sight, the knights can not charge in that turn.

My answer directly referenced the GW FAQ, which also asked about this specific example.

See:
Click Here

Page two, under psychology.
NagashKhemmler is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 12:20 PM
Searching for Vulkan
 
HorusReborn's Avatar
HorusReborn's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,755
Reputation: 1
Default

I think the best way to use screening units is not to block the knights by putting the warhounds in front of the knights, but close enough that they block any charges or march moves by the enemy!

HorusReborn is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-20-09, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
Ascendant Valor's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Posts: 320
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks much for the assistance NK, dFoM, and HR.

If any more questions pop up, I know where to turn!

"In the eyes of the Elves of Ulthuan there exists no fear, only grim determination.

Until one has witnessed them in combat, one cannot comprehend the power that they possess."
Ascendant Valor is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer Fantasy Battles & Age of Sigmar > General Warhammer

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome