Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Should I just...

2K views 23 replies 15 participants last post by  shaantitus 
#1 ·
Should I just stick to a codex chapter that's easy to paint? I'm having trouble just focusing on a single army, I get some units but I lose interest quickly due to fact I'm a rubbish painter and have the attention span of a finger nail.

So I'm thinking about whether I should just go for a simple colour that needs minimal effort so that I get an army sorted for once. Something like a Green chapter or metallic coloured chapter.

#3 ·
Salamanders? they have nice rules, easy to paint. or Silver Skulls? Or what about GK, less units to get bored with as well.:eek:k:

#5 ·
Problem with Dark Angels is they are "pretty popular" and I have reservations about their backstory ( I get the feeling the Fallen are telling the truth).

I like the more obscure chapters, that kind of have a history but nothing that extravagant. I do like the Salamanders, but I don't think I could do them justice, with all the flames etc and I'd end up going nuts on their forgeworld bits.

Silver Skulls are a possibility, I've just read The Gilder Rift, so I know quite a bit about them, although their whole superstitious nature does kind of grind my gears, but their colour scheme is pretty simple (boltgun metal over black with a wash of badab?).

#6 ·
How about necrons? They're pretty simpe to paint, though granted they're pretty much nerfed on the board.
Or, sticking with astartes, raven guard are basically black, or maybe relictors to give your army a more sinister taste?

#13 ·
This is false. There are spray paints in every colour imaginable. And those that are the seemingly hardest to paint with a brush are often the easiest to paint with the right spray paint as a base, especially Imperial Fists and Iyanden.

Montana Gold's "Yellow Submarine" for example. Perfect for Iyanden, though a brighter tone would be better for Imp Fists. Which they have.