Drop Pod - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 07:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
666JasonDark666's Avatar
666JasonDark666's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Commorragh
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1
Icon Drop Pod

Hey, I have a question for you heretics, I was recently playing space marines and I had A dreadnought wich came into battle with a drop pod, I placed him behind the pod so noone could shoot at him in that phase (since I couldn' t do nothing)
Now my question is, can the enemy shoot through the pod to hit my dreadnought or not ?


In the end there is only Chaos...
Tyranids: Ragnarök Hivefleet Space Marines: Salamanders Chapter Dark Eldar: Blood Dragon Kabal
Chaos Daemons: Seed Of Destruction
666JasonDark666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
docgeo's Avatar
docgeo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 955
Reputation: 1
Default

I would think yes because once deployed it is considered open top. You would likely get a cover save. How was your Dreadnaught equiped? Once deployed you could have used your range weapons....you just can't charge in the turn you arrive.


Doc



Link to my Artic UltraMarines Project:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=89554
docgeo is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

if they can see him and draw a LOS yes , if he qualifys for the cover save apply it .
arlins is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 07:41 AM
I am Alpharius.
 
Doelago's Avatar
Doelago's Flag is: Finland
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,375
Reputation: 10
Default

If they can draw line of sight to him through the Drop Pod, then I would say, yes, they can shoot him. I think you should get a cover save.

[Flerden] 9:05 pm: Why the hell can't he just go offline if he goes to watc tv?
[dark angel] 9:06 pm: It is Doelago, we will never know
Doelago is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
docgeo's Avatar
docgeo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 955
Reputation: 1
Default

YES!!! After so much support from the forums in the past it appears I have given some correct and useful advice...lol...Go Me!


Doc



Link to my Artic UltraMarines Project:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=89554
docgeo is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
Katie Drake's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,539
Reputation: 1
Default

Remember, you only get a cover save if the Dreadnought is 50% obscured by the Drop Pod or other terrain/models. It isn't a flat cover save that you get no matter what.
Katie Drake is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
docgeo's Avatar
docgeo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 955
Reputation: 1
Default

Wow Katie don't you ever sleep?!?! lol!
Nice avatar pic.

Doc



Link to my Artic UltraMarines Project:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=89554
docgeo is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
Katie Drake's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,539
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docgeo View Post
Wow Katie don't you ever sleep?!?! lol!
Nice avatar pic.

Doc
Insomnia. It doesn't care if it's your birthday or not.

And thanks.
Katie Drake is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Dawnstar's Avatar
Dawnstar's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Somewhere between the Warp and a Craftworld
Posts: 2,063
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie Drake View Post
Insomnia. It doesn't care if it's your birthday or not.

And thanks.
Happy Birthday

and why couldn't you do anything with the drop pod? A walker can move (in this case deep strike) and shoot all of its weapons without any problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpion5 View Post
Mate, bacon can do anything.
Dawnstar is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-08-11, 09:18 AM
Painter in training
 
Drannith's Avatar
Drannith's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 357
Reputation: 1
Default

I guess my group is the only one that have a problem shooting through a drop pod. I can see both sides of the issue though, we house ruled you can't shoot through them just to appease some of the "louder" gamers. Hasn't really affected the game play at all.

Can re-roll re-rolls
Drannith is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome