How do you move armies? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 04:42 AM Thread Starter
Curiouser and Curiouser

Default How do you move armies?

So I would love to hear how everyone out there deals with moving and taking their armies with them. I'm currently a college student living in a small apartment and so have limited space for my minis. Next year is going to be my last year of undergrad and I intend to move out of state to attend grad school (here's lookin at you Boston!) where I'm sure I won't have a larger place. Now I really, REALLY want to start Grey Knights but I only want to have to deal with storing one army at a time and shipping one army across the United States. Now I suppose I have two questions...

1) How do you compromise with storing armies in a limited amount of space? Do you sell armies you don't really care to play or just try to jam everything into every space possible?

2) Have you moved and had to bring an army(armies) with you and how did you deal with that? Did you choose to give up an army out of necessity or ease and how did you choose?

I suppose I have a lot of time to deal with this, but I would rather not continue adding to an army I know I would sell in a little while. Advice and/or stories much appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 04:46 AM

TheAbominableDan's Flag is: Canada

I bought a Games Workshop carrying case and I use it to store most of my models as well. I'm currently in a space crunch also but a spare book shelf does work well for keeping models in the open around the house.

The GW case wasn't cheap but my stuff stays secure, there are cheaper options if you're willing to look for it. But I got lazy I guess.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 07:45 AM
Drinker of tea...

TheReverend's Flag is: United Kingdom