I need some help - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Reputation: 1
Default I need some help

I dont see anything in either the rulebook or the daemon codex that says the Masque cant join a unit of Daemonettes. Can someone please clarify what everyones talking about, and point me to where it is in the rulebook. Sorry if its a nub question.
Heffay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Well, you see, the Masque is not an Independent Character (it's the only Herald that does not have the IC rule), it's a Infantry unit consisting of one model. Since it's not an IC, it cannot join other units, since it's a unit that is always a single model, ICs cannot join it.

Nuff said?

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
bishop5's Avatar
bishop5's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 2
Default

Yeah, the only one that doesn't have IC as a rule. Bit odd but I suppose that's GW for you

Tactica: Infantry Platoons
Quote:
Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what's for lunch.
Orson Welles
Forum Rules
bishop5 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Reputation: 1
Default Well..

Im reading under the other HQ Named Heralds, and they all say Infantry under them. Whats the difference that allows you to field them with squads? Also, where in the rulebook does it say that a single infantry model cant be fielded with a squad?
Heffay is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Kastle's Avatar
Kastle's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 316
Reputation: 1
Default

Well does the hq herald have the Independent Character rule? The IC rule allow models to join squads. Infantry units cannot join other infantry units unless it as a rule stated other wise so if it doesn't have IC it is stuck a all alone. though you can run it behind a squad of models to give it a 4+ cover save. There are plenty of other guys out there that don't have the IC rule. Like mepheston.

"When you get to heaven may the Devil be your judge.."
Kastle is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Ultra111's Avatar
Ultra111's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spixworth, Norwich
Posts: 3,544
Reputation: 1
Default

Basically, as the entry does not have independent character, it cannot join another unit, as it is classed as its own unit. If you joined the masque to a unit it would be the equivalent of having a scout squad join a tactical squad, of you get me.
Ultra111 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 08:54 PM
Unfinished Project King
 
Midge913's Avatar
Midge913's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 7,409
Reputation: 9
Default

As said above the Masque is the only Herald, whether generic or named, that doesn't have the Independent Character rule. This is the rule that allows them to join other units. You will find all the pertinent rules regarding Independent Characters on pages 47-49 in the BRB.

Commissions, Project Logs, and Galleries
Follow me on Twitter: @MidgesWorkshop. You can aslo follow me on face book Here
Midge913 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome