KoC's "Ultimate Unit" game #2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default KoC's "Ultimate Unit" game #2

Welcome to KoC's Ultimate Unit game #2.

Rules are slightly changed from the last game.
Be sure to read the details below.

You must think of a unit. The unit can be from any FOC choice.

You have 200 points to spend on the unit.
NO VEHICLES, includes Walkers!

It must be 1 unit from 1 FOC slot.
So you may take an IC as a single-model unit, but can not join him to a unit.

No reserves, deep strike, or outflank.

No terrain.

Send the details of the unit to me via PM, and you will be entered into the tournament.


When all the entrants have sent their unit details to me, i will start the battle.

Only 16 players will be able to enter, so be quick!
I may consider going to 32 if there are enough entrants.

Players will be randomly paired, and play in a knockout-style tournament until there is 1 person left.
The method of battle i will be using is as followed...

ROUND 1
- Units are placed exactly 12" apart.
- Unit 1 has a movement phase, followed by a shooting phase.
- Units are placed back exactly 12" apart.
- Unit 2 has a movement phase, followed by a shooting phase.
- Units are placed in base-to-base with unit 1 counting as charging.

ROUND 2
- Units are placed exactly 12" apart.
- Unit 2 has a movement phase, followed by a shooting phase.
- Units are placed back exactly 12" apart.
- Unit 1 has a movement phase, followed by a shooting phase.
- Units are placed in base-to-base with unit 2 counting as charging.


If a unit rapid-fires, then it will be unable to gain the benefits of charging that round.

Victory points will be calculated on a "per-model" basis, and added up from both rounds to calculate a winner.
In the event of a draw, both rounds will be played again.
All shooting and combat will be rolled by me with dice.

Blast weapons have a 50% chance to hit, and will count as hitting D6+2 models with a 25mm base or D6 models with a 40mm base.
Large Blast weapons have a 66% chance to hit, and will count as hitting D6+4 models with a 25mm base, or D6+2 models with a 40mm base.
Any Template weapons will count as hitting D6+1 models with a 25mm base or D6-1 models with a 40mm base, providing they moved at least 6".


The 2 players that are eliminated before the final round (equal 3rd place) will receive a medal each, along with +5 rep.
The player who is eliminated in the final round (2nd place) will receive a medal, along with +10 rep.
The player who is the last one standing (1st place) will receive a medal, +15 rep, and ultimate bragging rights!

I will announce when i have got enough players in this thread, and will be posting results from every round.

Good luck everyone!


KingOfCheese is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Winterous is offline  
post #3 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Hey, question.
Does each round only encompass 1 turn? For example, would a Necron be able to stand up in the next turn and continue the fight, or does it end after the one turn?
Winterous is offline  
 
post #4 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Hey, question.
Does each round only encompass 1 turn? For example, would a Necron be able to stand up in the next turn and continue the fight, or does it end after the one turn?
It lasts until only 1 unit is left standing.
So yes, Necrons can get back up, providing they aren't hit with weapons that ignore saves, or S8+ weapons, or the Necrons are caught by a sweeping advance.


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #5 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Ultra111's Avatar
Ultra111's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spixworth, Norwich
Posts: 3,544
Reputation: 1
Default

I didn't know about the first one, so what exactly happens when I send you a units details?

Sorry if I'm being slow
Ultra111 is offline  
post #6 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:53 PM
Curiouser and Curiouser
 
Hurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 803
Reputation: 1
Default

Hooray another tournament! Hopefully my unit will fare a little better in this one.
Hurricane is offline  
post #7 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra111 View Post
I didn't know about the first one, so what exactly happens when I send you a units details?

Sorry if I'm being slow
Just send the details, and thats about it.
Keep an eye on the thread to see how your unit goes in the tournament.

Have a read through the last thread and you should get an idea.


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #8 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Ultra111's Avatar
Ultra111's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spixworth, Norwich
Posts: 3,544
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
Just send the details, and thats about it.
Keep an eye on the thread to see how your unit goes in the tournament.

Have a read through the last thread and you should get an idea.
Yup, just did; will send you a PM shortly
Ultra111 is offline  
post #9 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Ultra111's Avatar
Ultra111's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spixworth, Norwich
Posts: 3,544
Reputation: 1
Default

When you say no vehicles, I assume this includes dedicated transport?
Ultra111 is offline  
post #10 of 144 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra111 View Post
When you say no vehicles, I assume this includes dedicated transport?
Correct.





Hmmm... surprised nobody tried out some of the Dark Eldar characters or units in the last round.
Possibilities of seeing some this round perhaps?


KingOfCheese is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome