Wargear/Upgrade "best buy" - Page 5 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-09-10, 12:34 AM
Senior Member
 
the-ad-man's Avatar
the-ad-man's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: stafford, england
Posts: 1,740
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis View Post
Storm Shield isn't a weapon. It just doesn't allow you to gain a bonus attack from two weapons. You can use both and benefit from both.
i understand it isnt a weapon, it seems like a legal combo, where you can benefit from both in a single assault phase.....but something just irks me about this combo :/
the-ad-man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-09-10, 01:05 AM
Grand Lord Munchkin
 
gen.ahab's Avatar
gen.ahab's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ivins, Utah, USA
Posts: 7,044
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vrykolas2k View Post
Personally, in this case I consider the game designers to be the morons.
A sword of x size weighs less than a hammer of x size, and unless it's one of those modern pieces of stainless crap will be better balanced.
I can use a 4' claymore 1-handed, haven't tried two, but I'm betting it's more likely than two 4' hammers with heads of a comperable size to a Thunder Hammer.
And if you can't use two, how do you use a Storm Shield and Relic Blade, as each requires a certain number of hands as well? I don't see any 3-armed Chapter Masters running around, either (in response to the post about needing 4 arms to dual wield them). Yet no-one brings that up.
Like many things in this game, a lot of stuff has to be taken with either a grain of salt or a spoon of sugar.
Not necessarily. Consider this: a hammer has a hilt( is that what it is called?) that stretched all the way up to the head so you can gip it just behind the head, making it much easier to handle two. The claymore has a very short hilt, comparatively speaking. It would be harder on the wrist to control two of them at once.

The Website kept telling me that my profile was only 80% complete without creating a signature. Ain't no website going to tell me I was a lazy shit, no sir.

Last edited by gen.ahab; 12-09-10 at 01:08 AM.
gen.ahab is offline  
post #43 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-09-10, 01:15 AM
Eastern Potent
 
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Avatar
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Reputation: 1
Default

Or we could say the rules allow one, and not the other. which is true.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
I'll update from Prisoner Cell Block Nerd when they extradite me.
Lord Sven Kittyclaw is offline  
 
post #44 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-09-10, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Bhaal006's Avatar
Bhaal006's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 109
Default

@Ahab: Hammers have a Haft.
Bhaal006 is offline  
post #45 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-09-10, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Vrykolas2k's Avatar
Vrykolas2k's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 924
Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Sven Kittyclaw View Post
Or we could say the rules allow one, and not the other. which is true.
No offense, but for the time being I'm going to go with what the GW employee said; I see everyone's point of view on it, I just don't agree and the model I converted just looks too cool to tear the arms off and replace them with an option which holds less appeal for me.

Vae victus.

"Rommel, you magnificent bastard, I read your damned BOOK!"
-Patton

Light a man a fire, and he's warm for a day. Light a man on fire, and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Vrykolas2k is offline  
post #46 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-09-10, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Stephen_Newman's Avatar
Stephen_Newman's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Solihull (UK West Midlands)
Posts: 3,864
Reputation: 5
Default

You do know that it is possible to use a shield without using a hand by having it arm mounted. That is why it can be used in conjunction with a relic blade. However a weapon that states that 2 hands are needed to wield one does seem a bit harder to wield a pair.

I suggest either using your conversion as twin thunder swords or power swords.


I have recently started a new Blog. I would really appreciate it if you would LOOK AT IT
Stephen_Newman is offline  
post #47 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Vrykolas2k's Avatar
Vrykolas2k's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 924
Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen_Newman View Post
You do know that it is possible to use a shield without using a hand by having it arm mounted. That is why it can be used in conjunction with a relic blade. However a weapon that states that 2 hands are needed to wield one does seem a bit harder to wield a pair.

I suggest either using your conversion as twin thunder swords or power swords.
Neither of which holds the least appeal.

Vae victus.

"Rommel, you magnificent bastard, I read your damned BOOK!"
-Patton

Light a man a fire, and he's warm for a day. Light a man on fire, and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Vrykolas2k is offline  
post #48 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-10-10, 11:22 PM
Senior Member
 
VanitusMalus's Avatar
VanitusMalus's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 795
Reputation: 1
Default

I honestly can not believe this argument has gone on for 4 pages.....C:SM says you can't use two Relic Blades for an additional attack and it doesn't matter if a powerfist or a thunder hammer can because rules are rules, end of story.

Now you can take two relic blades but you've just wasted points on something that won't give you any additional effect.

On topic however My Warboss with the powerfist never leaves home without his trusty Attack Squig. An additional powerfist attack for less than the price of an additional powerfist, yes please!
VanitusMalus is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome