I need help chosing a new army. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-26-10, 07:29 AM Thread Starter

I need help chosing a new army.

I started playing warhammer 40k about a year ago and started off playing space marines (me and a friend bought assault on black reach sets and trades orks for marines) But ive grown bored with space marines and am looking for an army thats based more on my interests now rather than the one thats the cheapest choice. Ive grown bored painting space marines doing the same schemes over and over again so in short im looking for an army that has an aggressive play style and is fun to paint and has room for me to add my own touch to armor and / or uniforms. I was thinking chaos space marines or eldar and right now im leaning twords chaos because it has a lot of fun fluff and the painting seemed fun because I could just say my units are from different cults and paint them however I want rather than just straight blue and gold of the ultramarines i started with. Im open to all suggestions even perhaps some ideas to spice up my love live with the space marines again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-26-10, 07:37 AM

Bane_of_Kings's Flag is: England

You could go with Tyranids. They let you choose your own colour scheme, and you can choose to go swarm or overload on the big monsters (Trygon Prime, Trygon, Mawloc, Tervigon, Tyrannofex, Swarmlord/Hive Tyrant, etc), and you can even have a combination of the big monsters and the swarm aspect. Anyway, I was in the same position as you earlier this year and I ended up going to Chaos breifly before the 'Nids.

However If you're going to choose between those two, go with Tyranids.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-26-10, 07:41 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bane_of_Kings View Post