Traditional Space Marines - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-31-19, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
wedgie2007's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default Traditional Space Marines

Hi all, Me again.

I was hope someone here could give me advise on painting the following figures for a custom chapter:
Gilliman
Primaris Captain
Primaris Librarian
Primaris Apothecary
Primaris Chaplain
Taddeus the Purifier Ministorum Priest
Space Marine Primaris Captain in Phobos Armour
and 2 boxes of Company Command

Do these figures have to be in the traditional Space Marine blue or can I paint them all in my custom chapter of black with left shoulder and both knees red?

I have tried to get some information on this via the internet and discord and all I have gotten is conflicting reports, some say that all HQ figures need to be in the blue and others say in the chapter color as you can paint them as you like and the third headache is that some say if you don't paint them blue clubs won't let you play.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Wedgie
wedgie2007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-31-19, 04:25 PM
Closet Dictator
 
Old Man78's Avatar
Old Man78's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sector 7 G
Posts: 3,400
Reputation: 34
Default

You only have to paint them blue, if you are making a named chapter, such as the "ultramarines" otherwise you can fill your boots and paint them whatever you way you want, your chapter, your way, just like Burger King

Old Man78 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-31-19, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
wedgie2007's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks for your reply I appreciate you answering most of my questions as I learn this game, one final question. does Gilliaman my Primarch for my custom Chapter have to be in blue being the primarch of the Ultramarines?
wedgie2007 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-19, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Shandathe's Avatar
Shandathe's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,517
Reputation: 14
Default

You can paint him (and your Chapter) however you want, just remember that he has the ULTRAMARINES keyword instead of the <CHAPTER> one, and his XIII Primarch rerolls only apply to other ULTRAMARINES units. Thus, if you're fielding him using ULTRAMARINES as your keyword/chapter tactics is much recommended.

Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and horrifying to know.
Shandathe is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-02-19, 11:19 AM
Feed
 
Serpion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Space
Posts: 10,976
Reputation: 51
Default

Basically you only need to count them as Ultramarines for rules purposes if you want to get the full benefits of fielding Guilleman. This only applies to rules for gaming purposes, so it doesn't matter what colour you decide to paint them as long as your opponent knows what you're fielding.



Guilleman does still give benefits to any generic Imperial units, but to get the most you need to field him alongside other Ultramaines.


Nonsense is our Salvation

Serpion5 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome