Pulling a character out of his unit for a challenge. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-15, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
The Emperor Protects
 
Angel of Blood's Avatar
Angel of Blood's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,262
Reputation: 41
Default Pulling a character out of his unit for a challenge.

Ok, played a pretty big game the other week, and this issue has been argued pretty fiercely between the group of friends who I played the battle with.

In the game, our opponent (Chaos), charged a unit of Deathknights with Belial in it. Now Belial was now T5 from being in base contact with two of his terminators. The Chaos Lord issues a challenge, but wasn't in base contact with Belial or his unit. Belial, wasn't actually in base contact with any enemy, the two terminators either side of him, were each in base contact with one enemy model. So he argued, that since he couldn't move his Lord into base contact with Belial by swapping any units, Belial had to come out from the back of his unit, and into the enemy unit, to be in base contact with the Chaos Lord. Which in turn brought him out of his unit, losing the T5 from Fortress of Shields.

The rule is pretty all over the place in the codex. But it seems like an odd one, which didn't quite seem right

D = Deathknights. B = Belial. T = Chaos Terminators. L = Chaos Lord. Ignore the full stops. Was kind of like this....

At the start, before challenge is called:

...DD.B.DD
.....D..D....
....T....T
..T.T.C.T.T

Then after challenge, he declared it would have to go down like this.

.DD..DD
...D..D
..T....BT
.T.T.C.T.T

Three of us are pretty new back into 40k, where as he hasn't been out of it at all. So in the end we couldn't be bothered to argue it.

Thoughts?
Angel of Blood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-15, 11:35 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

He could have just as easily moved the CL to Belial

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-15, 11:43 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

Quote:
Characters that cannot fight or strike blows (including those that are not engaged with an enemy model) cannot issue challenges.

...

Characters that cannot fight or strike blows (including those that are not engaged with an enemy model) cannot accept challenges.
Under "Issuing a challenge" and "Accepting a Challenge", mate. It seems like issuing a challenge happens prior to Pile In because;

"Furthermore, neither the characters in the challenge nor the models that have made way to allow the characters to get into base contact make a Pile In move when their Initiative step is reached."

It isn't really clear what happens when the two Pile In's occur due to Start of Initiative Pile In occuring at the same time; as in that case, he would have been forced (you MUST pile in, and Player whose turn it is, i.e Chaos players in this instance, as he charged) to pile in, then you would have done.

However,

Quote:
Challenges are issued at the start of the Fight sub-phase, before any blows are struck.
Suggests that it's before any start of Initiative Pile Ins, and it's how we play, but depending on your opponents desire to force it, he may force it to a roll off.

We have quite a fair bit of challenges in our gaming group due to the number of Emperor's Children and Imperial Fists 30K players, particularly the Fists who get a similar Shield Toughness rule, and many people trying to challenge shield without the need for having challenge meat feeders.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-15, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

You can just swap the model in the challenge with another friendly one in base to base contact, in this instance Belial swaps with a DWK in front, and the Chaos Lord swaps with one of the Terminators in front. Base contact is maintained with all models necessary for the T5 special rule DWK have. Not to mention the challenger moves to the challengee and not the other way around. Reference page 102, Fighting A Challenge:

Quote:
If possible, swap the challenger for a friendly model in base contact with the challengee. If this cannot be done, swap the challengee for a friendly model in base contact with the challenger. If neither of these moves would result in the two models being in base to base contact 'swap' the challenger to as close as possible to the challengee and assume the two to be in base contact for the purposes of the ensuing fight.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 03-23-15 at 12:05 AM.
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-15, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
If a challenge has been accepted, it is time to move the two combatants into base contact with each other. Note that these moves cannot be used to move a character out of unit coherency. If possible, swap the challenger for a friendly model in base contact with the challengee. If this cannot be done, swap the challengee for a friendly model in base contact with the challenger. If neither of these moves would result in the two models being in base contact, ‘swap’ the challenger to as close as possible to the challengee and assume the two to be in base contact for the purposes of the ensuing fight.
So what should have happened is the Chaos Lord issued the Challenge, so he would have to try to get base to base with Belial, HOWEVER that is not possible when swapping friendly models. So Belial has to try to do that with a friendly model of his own... again this is not possible. So the Chaos Lord swaps with someone in combat, and Belial stays put BUT they are presumed to be in combat.

...DD.B.DD
.....D..D....
....C....T
..T.T.T.T.T
OR
...DD.B.DD
.....D..D....
....T....C
..T.T.T.T.T

However if Belial had issued the challenge then his new position may end up with losing his bonus Toughness depending if originally the guy at the front has base contact with 2 Knights with their fancy shields. Though as said above the pile in would probably get the bonus back, though as that is done on I step it may mean the Lord if using a weapon that strikes at I then would strike before the DW can pile back in around Belial.

Last edited by mayegelt; 03-23-15 at 12:02 AM. Reason: Edited cos i re-read something.
mayegelt is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-15, 11:57 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

...unless I'm very much mistaken, characters engaged in challenges "only count as in base contact with each other," no? Then a whole bunch of jokeying to keep Belial in base contact with friendly Deathknights means nought, since when in the challenge--whether or not he moved-- he only counts as in base contact with his foe.

Could be misquoting based on a misread of the rules to address not-the-issue being asked about, but...
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-15, 12:20 AM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

@Mossy Toes

Ish, but not for the purpose you're thinking of.

1) Move Combatants into base contact provided cannot move character out of coherency with the unit
2a) Swap challenger (issuer) for friendly model in base contact with challengee (acceptor)
2b) Failing that, Swap Acceptor for friendly model in base contact with the Issuer.
2c) If neither gets the models in base contact with each other, then "swap" the Issuer to as close as possible to the Acceptor and assume to be in base contact.

That is assuming that the challenge went ahead; i.e both the issuer and acceptor were in base contact with an enemy model; but in this apparent case neither were. The challenge should a) never have been made by the Lord and b) never been accepted by Belial.

6th edition didn't matter so much; but in this edition it does make the difference.

There was a humourous occasion recently when I used my Sevatar to slingshot an enemy Praetor nearly 15" after the enemy legion tactical squad he was baby sitting was engaged by a Night Raptor squad only to have Sevatar and his Veterans engage on the other side of the unit; the Night Raptor had already lost its Sergeant to the Praetor, but the Tactical Sergeant failed its Look Out, Sir! so Sevatar issued a challenge, and Emperor's Children being Emperor's Children had to accept. There's no limit on the move, so the Praetor ended up teleported 15", right onto Sevatars chainglaive, taking 2 Rending Instant Death wounds, and failing both Invulnerable Saves because of this rule.

Rubber banding is brilliant.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will

Last edited by Vaz; 03-23-15 at 12:23 AM.
Vaz is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-15, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
...unless I'm very much mistaken, characters engaged in challenges "only count as in base contact with each other," no? Then a whole bunch of jokeying to keep Belial in base contact with friendly Deathknights means nought, since when in the challenge--whether or not he moved-- he only counts as in base contact with his foe.

Could be misquoting based on a misread of the rules to address not-the-issue being asked about, but...
I think that is old rules for that, when challenges disappeared in to some form of external dimension that only consisted of them (or as the rules said something like you pick the models out of the unit and placed them nearby but in a position that could no way interfere with anything around them.), what was how WFB used to play it.
mayegelt is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-15, 12:30 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
That is assuming that the challenge went ahead; i.e both the issuer and acceptor were in base contact with an enemy model; but in this apparent case neither were. The challenge should a) never have been made by the Lord and b) never been accepted by Belial.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRB
If a unit has one or more models in base contact with an enemy model (for any reason), then it is locked in combat.
So even if they are not in base to base with an enemy, as long as their unit is, they class as locked in combat, and that is the only 2 things you need for challenging is that you are a character and are Locked in Combat (what as above says, if your unit is you are), and that there is a character who can accept the challenge in the opposite unit that is also locked in combat.
mayegelt is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-23-15, 12:36 AM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

Edit one sec, just clarifying something

Just discovered that engaged meant within 2" of a model in base contact. In this case, it seems likely that both Lord and Belial were "engaged" and capable of issuing challenge, apologies.

So; 2a could not happen, but neither could 2b, so 2c occurs, forcing the issuer to "swap" to be as close as possible, i.e, remove one of the Chaos Terminators in base contact and put the Chaos Lord in that place; that Terminator then losing its Pile In Move as well.

In short, in this instance, Belial wouldn't have moved. If the Chaos Lord had been in combat, however, Belial would have been forced to swap with the DWK once he accepted. As you can see the optimal is to have 2 ranks of Deathwing because of this, so that he is always within reach of 4 or more DWK's.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will

Last edited by Vaz; 03-23-15 at 12:51 AM.
Vaz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome