Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Worried about future codices

2K views 24 replies 13 participants last post by  Ddraig Cymry 
#1 · (Edited)
So I was assembling more Imperial Guard, to finally push me past the 1,500 point limit, and a thought hit me, and started to worry me. The 6th edition Imperial Guard codex is less than six months away (at least that's what the last rumor I heard said), but what if it sucks? What if my preferred way of using my Guardsmen (mechanized) gets scrapped? Obviously this probably won't happen, but I can't be the only person who's felt like this when their new codex (obviously not just Imperial Guard) is on the way right? How did you guys deal with it and how did your new codex meet your expectations?

#2 ·
I've been playing both warhammer games for 20 years, and I have that worry every time. And Every time I feel like the new Codex is better overall than the old codex.

They WILL tweak what individual units are best, though, and you just have to deal with that effecting your strat... I think it's intentional to make more money by selling all their stock. 3 Editions ago, Howling Banshees were a terror, and this edition I don't think I'll ever take them. In 6th Edition rules with 4th edition Eldar Codex, Jetbikes were amazing. I owned 4 jetbikes. I could have gone and bought up a ton, but I (rightly) figured that the new edition of the codex would switch it up again and I saved my money.

Long story short, your old playstyle won't be completely invalidated, but if it was the "best" way to play the army before, it may no longer be.

#10 ·
In 6th Edition rules with 4th edition Eldar Codex, Jetbikes were amazing. I owned 4 jetbikes. I could have gone and bought up a ton, but I (rightly) figured that the new edition of the codex would switch it up again and I saved my money.

Long story short, your old playstyle won't be completely invalidated, but if it was the "best" way to play the army before, it may no longer be.